Wordless(ish) Wednesday: from my desk to yours.


“In a mood of faith and hope my work goes on. A ream of fresh paper lies on my desk waiting for the next book. I am a writer and I take up my pen to write.”
~Pearl S. Buck

Desk 1

Desk 2

Desk 3

Desk 4

I’ve always thought you can tell a lot about people just by looking at their desks and/or other work spaces. This is where I write, write, write and query, query, query. Plaques with motivational quotes, a starfish-shaped decorative plate, a seahorse-splashed lamp from the shore, a collage mug from the road trip Sara and I took three years ago … they all make me smile. And, of course, there are pictures, lots of pictures: with family and friends, with two of my favorite authors, with Kelly Clarkson – these are memories that last a lifetime. This is what inspires me. What inspires you? How do you decorate your work space?

8 thoughts on “Wordless(ish) Wednesday: from my desk to yours.

  1. Love your writing space, Shari! Mine is decorated with my beloved Carolina Panthers memorabilia, quotes that inspire me, my diploma and pictures of loved ones, also. Maybe I’ll have to post photos of mine, too :)

    Oh, and… YOU inspire me!

  2. Ooh! I love your work space. Looks so inviting, with those muted blues and the inspirational photographs, and the splash of sunlight coming in through the window. Lovely! (Though is it hard to spend hours on end sitting in your desk chair writing, or do you sometimes relax on the couch or in bed?)

    • Thanks! It’s my pretend-I’m-really-writing-by-the-seashore room ;-) And YES, it has become really hard on my neck and back to spend hours on end sitting in that desk chair, but I really like the structure of always working in that spot. Sometimes I’ll do query research from the couch or kitchen table, but all my writing is done at the desk … until I win the lottery, buy a beach house, and can sit out on a balcony every day ;-)

  3. I love your work space, too! Definitely reminds me of a beach cottage. You’ve inspired me to make my area more “chill.” After all, I’ve named it Maui and it sure doesn’t look like it.

    • That’s exactly what I was going for: until I can have a real beach cottage, evoking the inspiration of the shore is second best. :) I love that you name your work space – what a fun idea! If you could choose anywhere to write, would Maui be it?!

  4. I love your writing space. It seems like the perfect peaceful place to sit down and gather your thoughts.

    I don’t really have a workspace at home now that I turned it into Munchkin’s playroom, but when I have my own space one day, I could see it looking a lot like yours.

    • Thank you! That’s definitely what I was aiming for, a peaceful spot where I can sit down, gather my thoughts, and let the words flow :)

      Aww, and I bet Munchkin loves his playroom! If you have to turn workspace into something else, what better than a place for your little guy to enjoy, right?

Leave a Reply

