Tuesday’s Tunes: Blown Away.


“In a place far away, where the water meets the sky
The thought of it makes me smile
You are my tomorrow…”
~Carrie Underwood, “See You Again”

Okay, so: I’ve been super excited to write about Carrie’s new album for this week’s edition of Tuesday’s Tunes, until I sat down at my desk, opened up a blank page, and realized … well, there’s actually not much I can say. Because for once – probably for the first time ever – I’ve kept my vow and not listened to even a snippet of any song on the CD, other than the lead single. Apparently patience is a virtue, after all. But even without having heard the music, even without having experienced the magic of melodies and meanings swirling together, I can tell you this: it’ll be fantastic. I looked up the lyrics to all fourteen songs so I could find the perfect ones to include with this post, and even now, while they’re only words on a computer screen and not chords humming through the air, they are just … lovely. Poignant. Relatable. Touching.

As is this video of Carrie performing her current single, “Good Girl,” with an elementary school chorus. It is SO CUTE. Truly, if you’re looking for something to make you smile, this is it.

Now … I’m off to go bug the employees at Target until they open the stock boxes and give me a copy to buy.

Are you a Carrie Underwood fan? Will you be buying her album BLOWN AWAY today? (Hint: the answers to those questions should be ‘yes’ and ‘yes’) Do you wait until a CD comes out to listen to its songs or do you ever cave in ahead of time?

11 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes: Blown Away.

  1. I am not a Carrie fan, but I do love this song, and the video is adorable! I hope the CD is amazing… New music is one of the best things about life! :)

    • I couldn’t agree more – there’s just something really special about experiencing an album and its inspiration for the first time. It’s kind of like finding a new friend!

    • It’s definitely different from the others – more of a storytelling album, I think, instead of all the big power ballads. See You Again is my favorite, too, followed by Blown Away, Good in Goodbye, One Way Ticket, and Forever Changed.

    • Know what’s funny? I could totally see myself doing that, too ;-) No earbuds so far, but I do always listen to a new album on the drive home from the store!

  2. Happy listening and singing along! Carrie isn’t only a great singer, she seems like such a nice person, too!

    • Thank you! I may or may not have half the album memorized already ;-) I completely agree about how nice she is. I met her (briefly) after a concert back in 2006, and she was a total sweetheart. You can tell how genuinely appreciative she is of everything and everyone!

  3. Pingback: Time Machine. | Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

