On My Mind.


“In summer, the song sings itself.”
~William Carlos Williams

1. Guess who is officially BELOW her target word count goal on this manuscript? Guess who is incredibly excited about it? With five days of edits left to go (not that I’m counting or anything …), the book should end up falling out several thousand words below the initial plan. I am super, super happy about this and super, super pumped about how the story has tightened up throughout this round of revisions. I am also super, super confused – was transferring all my edit notes to my writing journal yesterday (I tend to jot things down frenetically while revising and then recopy them towards the end, so I know what still needs to be changed) and cannot decipher one of my comments for anything. Normally my handwriting is neat, but this … this is what editing looks like.

notes

2. This summer is going way, way, way too quickly. Maybe that’s because the first half was cool and rainy, or maybe it’s because I’ve spent mostly every day indoors editing, but still, I don’t like it. Please slow down, time!

3. Kelly’s concerts will always make for some of my favorite days.

4. Really, really good – and important – lesson from Mark Twain: “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”

5. I may or may not have flipped out (AKA: I definitely flipped out) when I found this on Etsy. It’s my gift to myself for finishing edits, all the way from Ireland (came a week early and I’ve worn it every day since). A message in a bottle for my book about a message in a bottle, complete with a personalized passage from the story inside. I love it. Lots. <3

necklace

What’s on your mind today?

16 thoughts on “On My Mind.

  1. I know how bad my handwriting is when I’m jotting things down, so I usually do everything including edits on the computer for my own and my manuscript’s safety! Too many times have I looked at something I’ve written and though, what the heck is that supposed to say?!

    I think time must be turning faster, because I feel the same way about this uni semester as you do about the summer. It needs to slow down!

    Etsy has some really great stuff and that is just ADORABLE! :) That must be so special to you…

    Have a nice day :)

    • It’s just crazy how quickly time is flying – even when the days feel long, the weeks feel short. Ack! I hope it slows down for you throughout the rest of the semester.

      Thank you! It is! I love getting to explain the meaning behind it when people ask! :)

  2. YAY for your word count! I love when that happens too, because my word counts are always astronomical! I love that beautiful necklace (isn’t Etsy great?) and I think it’s really cool that you rewarded yourself with it. Maybe I should find something that reminds me of my own book :)

    • Oh boy, can I ever relate to the astronomical word counts. Every time I tell myself not to go overboard with the first draft … and every time that fails. ;-) Hope it works out better for you! Oh my gosh, and yes, Etsy is amazing. I didn’t really start browsing there until last year (apparently I’ve been living under a rock?) and now I’m in love. You should definitely treat yourself to something reminiscent of your book, especially after all the awesome feedback you’ve been getting!

  3. I am so proud of you and I love that you included your handwritten notes here- helps us to get into the mind of a brilliant author ;) Thanks for the Kelly videos. I wanna see that show so badly, but I have to save my money.

    • Awww, you are so sweet and this comment makes me smile from ear-to-ear. Thank you! <3 I felt so bad when I couldn't get any reception at the concert to call you. It is the worst venue ever when it comes to that. I hope you enjoyed the videos, though!

    • Hi — and thanks for stopping by! :) Sometimes we just have to jot things down quickly, right? Our minds move faster than our fingers and the notes end up looking that way. I’ve never done anything like that in terms of editing, but thank you for the idea!

  4. Whoa. I love that necklace! Looks like the perfect reward for doing such an awesome job on your edits. And you *have* done an awesome job. Way to go on those! Can’t believe you’re below your anticipated word count AND almost finished. Yay!

    • Thank you!! I’m really, really happy with how things turned out — 2500+ words below my goal and fifty-three pages deleted. Totally makes the countless hours of work more than worth it!

Leave a Reply

