One step at a time…

We live and we learn
To take one step at a time
There’s no need to rush
It’s like learning to fly, or falling in love
It’s gonna happen when it’s supposed to happen
And we find the reasons why
One step at a time…
Jordin Sparks, “One Step At a Time”

So I’ve been trying to decide what to write in this entry.  How does one start a new blog?  What should the first entry be about?  I couldn’t decide exactly how or where to begin, but I  just got some excellent advice:  “You worry too much.  Just write.”  How appropiate that that advice (which is so fitting – I am a perfectionist by every definition of the word, and I definitely worry way too much) came from someone who has not only been absolutely invaluable in my quest to get my books published, but from someone who truly embodies the definition of what a best friend is.  So, I feel it’s only fitting to start off this entry (and this blog) by saying a HUGE “thank you, thank you, thank you!” to Amanda not only for creating this blog for me, but for the incredible amount of time, effort, and dedication she has put into helping me make my dreams a reality, and for being the most truly amazing best friend I could ask for.  Amanda – thank you, more than you know.  As the song lyric goes, “I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason, bringing something we must learn … and we are led to those who help us most to grow…”  I truly believe that, and I’m thankful for it every day :)

I’m thinking it would be a really cool idea to start every blog entry with a quote or song lyrics that are especially fitting at the given time (anyone who knows me knows that I am a HUGE quote fanatic, so I have quite an extensive library to choose from!).  The song lyrics in this entry are from Jordin Sparks’ “One Step At a Time.”  Now, in addition to being a huge quote fanatic, I will also happily admit that I am a gigantic American Idol fan.  Jordin’s song is such a perfect way to describe my life right now.  I finished my first book last June (and have since written another 850 pages – I couldn’t stop writing if I tried at this point!) and after the editing on it was complete, began sending out query letters to literary agents in October.  To say I’m anxious and excited to hear back from them all would be an understatement.  After working on this book series every day for over a year now, it feels like it’s my baby, so to speak.  It’s such an important part of my life and who I am, and I dream and pray that one day I’ll be blessed enough to turn this into a career.  As I continue on my quest for a literary agent, I remind myself that nothing worth having ever comes easily.  If you love something so much, if you have a passion for it that you can’t quench  – then it’s worth fighting for.  It may not happen overnight, and that’s okay – because when it does, it will just mean that much more.  It can get discouraging sometimes when the future is uncertain, when you don’t know where the path will lead, but it’s important to remember that “when nothing is sure, everything is possible.”  It’s important to take that uncertainty and that discouragement and turn it into something optimistic.

Sure, I hope and hope and hope every single day that this will be the day I get the response I’m praying for from a literary agent.  Writing is my passion, and I only hope that one day I’ll be lucky enough to do this for a living.  It would be a dream come true, and I wish for it every single day.  I know, though, that something you love this much is worth fighting for no matter what.  It may not happen overnight, but that’s ok .. because “we live and we learn to take one step at a time.”

I’m looking forward to seeing the path that those steps lead me down.

 

One thought on “One step at a time…

  1. Having the courage to pursue your dreams can at times be rather daunting. I hope you realize how many of us are now true “fans” of your work and want more than anything to see your novels in print! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

