Because sometimes all you need is a reminder…


“I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go. Things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right. You believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”
~Marilyn Monroe

Anyone who knows me knows that my motto in life is “Dream Big; Work Hard.” I’ve mentioned it before in this blog, and it’s something I truly believe in. I whole-heartedly believe that the two go hand-in-hand. What’s a dream without the dedication to work hard to make it into a reality? And sure, hard work is wonderful and rewarding on its own … but even more so when it’s put into making a dream come true. This is the approach I’ve been taking in my journey to get my books published. It is, of course, my dream to have my novels published. It’s a dream I’ve been working towards for over a year and a half now (even when I didn’t know it) and a dream that I won’t ever give up on. And see, one of the reasons I know this is what I want to do with my life … the work I put into it doesn’t seem like work. The days when I spend hours upon hours working on it without a break pass by in the blink of an eye … because I love working on it. It’s a labor of love, to be sure, and one that I only hope to have the honor of working on as a career one day. It’s something so important to me that I can’t begin to put it into words (I know, I know – you must be asking yourselves why in the world I continue to write these entries that go on and on and on then) and something I will happily continue to work on, strive for, and fight to make happen for as long as it takes.

Well … almost always happily. I certainly have my moments of discouragement, and yesterday evening was one of them. Sometimes I wonder why it often seems so difficult to be able to do what you love, to be able to take your passion and make it into a career. Sometimes I wonder if all the hard work really is enough to make the dream come true. Deep down, I’ll never stop believing that it is. I’ll always believe that “a dream come true is just a tiny little wish that won’t take no for an answer.” I’ll always believe that “we carry within us the dreams that inspire our tomorrows.” I’ll always believe that “all of our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” But sometimes I need a little reminder. Sometimes I need that reminder that everything happens for a reason and that anything worth having is worth fighting for. And I got that reminder yesterday, several times over. One that stood out was the quote that Amanda sent me (thank you, thank you, thank you, not just for the quote but for listening!!) — a quote that helped more than I can say, a quote that I needed to read. It struck a chord when I needed it the most, so much so that I wanted to dedicate a blog entry to it.

“I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go. Things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right. You believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

*Because people come into our lives for a reason, even if we don’t know what that reason is at the time.
*Because, often times, those people who come into our lives change them – and us – for good.
*Because sometimes people’s actions hurt us but also make us realize how blessed we are for the wonderful, truly special people in our lives.
*Because sometimes we have to learn to let go of the people who bring the clouds and focus on the ones who bring the sun.
*Because the disappointments remind us to work harder and dream bigger.
*Because the discouragement reminds us just how badly we want what we’re dreaming of, what we’re working for — and also reminds us to turn that discouragement into encouragement.
*Because “the black clouds make the blue skies even more beautiful.”
*Because those brief moments of discouragement serve to remind us how badly we want our dreams to come true and just how hard we’re willing to work to make that happen.
*Because those moments also remind us that if we weren’t so passionate about what we’re working towards, then we wouldn’t care so much.
*Because you have to have faith and you have to believe that things happen for a reason.
*Because you have to believe that those good things, those better things, those dreams come true, are within your grasp if you only work hard enough and hold out hope.
*Because you have to dream big and work hard.

Funny how one quote can hold so much meaning, isn’t it? Funny, wonderful, and inspiring … and a reminder to always concentrate on the sunny skies and the people in your life who bring brightness into it every single day. Because with those people in your life, and with the dedication to dream big and work hard to make those dreams come true, you’re already a success.

3 thoughts on “Because sometimes all you need is a reminder…

Leave a Reply

