A dream is a wish your heart makes.


“Don’t dream your life; live your dream.”

People always say that our dreams are a sneak peek into our subconscious, that they’re our way of expressing how we really feel and what we truly want. This past weekend proved to me that it goes beyond that, though, and that sometimes our dreams come along at the exact right moment, at the very time when we need them the most.

I had been having a rather rough couple days leading up to my birthday this week. I couldn’t help but think that another year had gone by, and this time it was almost exactly a year since I first began this journey to get my books published. I kept thinking about my birthday last year, when I was just finishing my editing for the first book and getting ready to start on my first round of query letters. I was so excited then, so hopeful for what was to come. Now, that’s not to say that I’m not excited now, because the prospect of being able to do what I so love for a career is something that will always be an incredibly huge dream of mine. I still hope for it every day, and I still work as hard as can to make it happen. But it’s been a year now, and the reality of the situation has set in. I knew from the beginning that this could take years, but now I’m experiencing that. It’s definitely hard at times and it can be discouraging. It’s hard when you want something so badly but it’s still just out of your reach. It’s really hard.

So that’s where the whole idea of dreams come in. I had a dream Saturday night that was exactly what I needed. It involved me going back to our ABC affiliate to apply for another job, and I ended up having a long discussion with two of the people who have been mentors to me over the years. I’ve mentioned Anita in this blog before, so I’ll just say now that she has been an incredible influence in my life and has taught me so very much. I consider myself blessed to know her and have worked with her, just as I consider myself so blessed to know Karen Rogers. Out of the three anchors I was particularly close with at our ABC station, she’s the only one who still works there. She’s an absolute sweetheart, and, like Anita, has never been anything but above and beyond supportive of me. Okay, so back to my dream … Karen and Anita (who was apparently working at the station again) were both there, and I sat down and had a very real, open, and honest conversation with them about everything that was going on in my life, everything I wanted to accomplish, and all the dreams I’m working so hard to turn into a reality. They were incredibly supportive about the book journey and excited about everything, offering me suggestions and making me promise to keep them updated every step of the way. I know, of course, that the dream wasn’t real, but I can’t begin to explain how real it felt or how much it helped. I woke up yesterday with a renewed sense of determination and set right about doing more work on the books with a smile on my face and an excitement I can’t quite explain.

It’s amazing to me how our dreams take us not only where we want to go, but where we need to go. Sometimes they are exactly what we need at a given moment. Sometimes they are all we need to remind us that the only thing better than a dream is a dream come true. So don’t just dream your life, but live your dream. You never know where it could take you.

One thought on “A dream is a wish your heart makes.

Leave a Reply

