Where you gonna reach when the goal gets higher?


“Play on when you’re losing the game
Play on ’cause you’re gonna make mistakes
It’s always worth the sacrifice
Even when you think you’re wrong
So play on, play on…”
~Carrie Underwood, “Play On”

Take two.

After two and a half months of writing, four rounds of editing, almost as many drafts of my synopsis and query letter (hey, it’s tough to condense an entire novel into just a couple pages and paragraphs, respectively), and a lot of research to determine which agents I feel are the best fit, today marks the beginning of the next step in my journey toward getting my newest novel published. I sent off my first five queries this morning, and now the waiting game begins again. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit nervous, but I definitely feel more prepared this time around. I know more about what to expect from the whole process, more about what goes into it and how long it takes, more about what the agents look for, more about what I’m looking for in an agent … and, I honestly think, a lot more about myself. This new book has been a lesson in a lot of things, and I can see the ways it’s helped me grow not only as a writer, but also as a person.

Now if only I could figure out a way to make the wait to hear back from the agents a little less agonizing. Kidding, of course – I know how incredibly busy they are and I completely understand why they need time to review every submission. Actually, I’ll take it one step further. I really appreciate it. In a business that’s so complex, I think it’s wonderful that so many agents take the time to give each query personal attention and sincere consideration. Their job has to be a difficult one, and it’s so admirable that even with its complexities, they take the time to make such a personalized effort. I’m going to keep that in mind as I await the verdict. Maybe this time I’ll actually be able to go more than an hour without checking my email … maybe.

In ways, the goal does seem higher this time, if only because the message of this novel is one that resonates so strongly with me. The concept behind With a Little Bit of Luck is something that’s always been in the back of my mind, but is even more firmly entrenched now. What would I do if I knew I couldn’t fail? The answer is easy. I’d write and write and write some more. This is what I’d do, for the rest of my life. So I’m going to keep playing on, no matter how long it takes or how difficult the wait may seem – because when the goal is making your work of heart a reality, no sacrifice is too big and no wait too long.

Even if I do keep checking my email way too much. Play on, keep playing on.

Leave a Reply

