Snippets of inspiration.


“To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe.”
~Anatole France


Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a quote fanatic. Seriously, I’ve lost count of how many I have saved on the computer, not to mention the books I have stacked on my nightstand. I don’t think I can pinpoint why exactly I love them, other than to say it can be a very special thing to take these words of inspiration and apply them to our own goals and dreams, to take these snippets of hope and use them as motivation. I love incorporating quotes into my novels, using them as chapter headings sometimes or even just to help create a mood or thought behind a scene. The same is true for song lyrics (hence why I start every blog off with a quote or lyric). I know I’ve mentioned that in its own entry before (and, I believe, talked about how specific songs played an important role in writing With a Little Bit of Luck), so I’ll just add that it truly is a remarkable thing how closely intertwined writing and music can be. It’s a beautiful connection.

This leads me to my question for all of you. The quote I chose for this entry is one of several that I love the most. It’s a constant reminder and motivator. The same is true for all the song lyrics that resound well beyond their chords, but I’ll save that for another entry. Do you have a favorite quote or song lyric? One that inspires you or just resonates for some reason? And if you do, why? I’d love to hear the meaning behind all of your choices.

And, unrelated but too great an opportunity not to share, all the bookworms out there need to check out this link. It’s a giveaway spearheaded by the wonderful Allison Winn Scotch and joined by more than twenty-five other authors. Enter today for your chance to win one of these fabulous novels!!

7 thoughts on “Snippets of inspiration.

  1. We talked about this!!!! Well, the part about music intertwining with writing! Love <3

    I adore quotes, too! I have so many song lyrics that i just love, depending on my mood/attitude. My favorite right now is actually from Beauty and the Beast, when Belle is singing. She says "I want adventure in the great wide somewhere. I want it more than i can tell. And for once it might be grand to have someone understand I want so much more than they've got planned." <3 She's officially my new favorite princess. I love how she's not afraid to be different and stray from the norm.

    • I thought of you when I wrote that part of the entry! I’ve actually been working on creating a whole playlist for WALBOL, beyond the two main songs, and it’s kinda amazing how many relate!

      I love the song lyric! It’s been ages since I watched Beauty and the Beast (I wanna say I was in fifth grade, so a good sixteen years ago), but I’ve gotta say … I admire Belle’s spunk ;-) You have to love the idea of wanting more, of always having that ambition and drive that makes you seek out new adventures and opportunities!

  2. i love this blog!!! i, too, live by quotes. my work billboard puts them up weekly and it most always brightens my day =] i also keep a book of quotes since childhood.
    i love the quote you chose! <3

    'k, it's hard to pick a favorite, but i always come back to this one. holds special meaning, also, for the time and place i came across it:

    "“Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” -Shel Silverstein

    • Isn’t it AMAZING how a wonderful or inspiring quote can just brighten your day like that? I also love the ones that really make you stop and think. What a great idea to have a weekly quote at a workplace! Do you all get to submit ideas or does someone specific choose whch ones get posted?

      Keeping a running book like that is such a wonderful thing! It must be fun to go back through it and see which ones you collected when you were younger. And I love, love, love that quote! I’ve always been a fan of Shel Silverstein. It’s so great how he manages to wrap up such pearls of wisdom into prose. The message behind that quote is so special and one I hope every child takes to heart! You have me thinking now … how much are our favorite quotes influenced by the time in our lives when we stumble upon them?

  3. I’ve been looking for a good quote, for almost a week.

    I don’t usually write about troubled times, but this quote is from a beautiful gospel song by Elvis Presley, and it always comes into my mind during hard times. The words alone may or may not move you, but if you listen to the song, I think they will.

    When the storms of life are raging
    Stand by me
    When the storms of life are raging
    Stand by me
    When the world is tossing me
    Like a ship out on the sea
    Thou who rulest when wanted
    Stand by me

    When I’m growing old and feeble
    Stand by me
    When I’m growing old and feeble
    Stand by me
    When I do the best I can
    And my friends misunderstand
    Thou who never lost a battle
    Stand by me
    Thou who never lost a battle
    Stand by me

    As for optimistic and uplifting quotes, I had in mind at least one song, Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong.

    “I see colors of the rainbow,
    So pretty in the sky,
    Also on the faces,
    Of the people passing by.

    I see friends shaking hands,
    Saying how-do-you-do,
    They’re really saying,
    I love you.”

    But I love that entire song!

    It’s hard to settle on a favorite quote, when there are so many from the likes of Anne Frank, Helen Keller, and Morrie from “Tuesdays with Morrie.

    • First – it’s seriously too sweet that you’ve spent all this time considering which quote/lyrics you wanted to use! The amount of time and thought you put into everything is so admirable :)

      Second – I love “Wonderful World.” It’s such a pretty, inspiring song – one that makes you just stop and think of all the simple, yet important, things. I’ve never heard that Elvis song before, but the lyrics alone are enough to tell me how poignant it is. I think so often our favorite quotes/songs are about optimism, but one like this is such a great reminder on how to stay strong through the tougher times.

      Thank you so much for sharing these!! <3

Leave a Reply

