Feel the rush of the ocean…


“Every drop in the ocean counts.”
~Yoko Ono

ocean

Happy Fourth of July to everyone! I hope you all have been having a fantastic holiday in this wonderful country of ours! I’m headed to Ocean City, NJ – one of my favorite shore towns and all-around favorite places – from tomorrow until Saturday. Suitcase is packed (well, mostly), books are ready and waiting in my beach bag, and both my laptop and writing journal will be making the trip along with me. Wishful thinking on my part? Probably, but we haven’t even left yet and I so miss writing already (seriously, what does that say about me?), so they’re coming along just in case I can squeeze in an early morning on the balcony or something of the sort. I know I could really use the break after writing so nonstop, I know that’s what vacation is for, but hey – it’s a good thing to love something so much you never want to stop, right?

Speaking of loving something – SO excited to sit on the beach and read while listening to the sound of the ocean! There is honestly just nothing like it. The boardwalk, the seagulls, the sun making the ocean waves sparkle like diamonds as they crash against the shore, and so much more … there’s just something uniquely special about the Jersey shore, at least for me. Some of my favorite memories will always be from summer vacations there, and I look forward to at least trying to relax and take a bit of a break this week.

Every drop in the ocean counts. They all blend together to create a beautiful, seemingly endless expanse of water that hugs the horizon and inspires hope. Yes, the ocean makes us feel small, but it also makes us realize that anything is possible. If all those tiny droplets can make something so great, don’t we owe it to ourselves to pursue our own ocean-sized dreams?

What about you? Do you have any vacation spots that inspire you?

3 thoughts on “Feel the rush of the ocean…

  1. I’d probably wind up bringing my laptop, too! Even though i know not much would get done, i’d still want to bring it just in case. Have so much fun on vacation :] i love Ocean City, too! I spent the day there with my friends last summer and am hoping to go back at some point!

    • I’m the same way. Logic tells me that it’ll be tough to find the time (and quiet) to write, but I can’t stand the thought of not having my computer there just in case I can sneak some time to work. I think I have a warped definition of the word ‘vacation.’ ;-)

      And thank you!! OC is one of my favorite shore towns for sure, and I always look forward to spending some time there. I hope you get the chance to go back this year!! Is it a long drive for you?

      • It’s about two hours for us, i think, which isn’t too bad! My whole family went down a few years ago for about a week (my boss’s family has a house there and they let us use it), and it’s just so nice!

Leave a Reply

