Vacation? What’s that?


“At the beach, life is different. Time doesn’t move hour to hour, but mood to moment. We live by the currents, plan by the tides, and follow the sun.”
~Unknown

So I’m on vacation this week. I’ll be the first to say that I’d spend every summer day at the shore if I could — the beach, the ocean, the pool, the atmosphere of true happiness that just seems to emanate from up and down the NJ coast, it’s all perfect. And inspiring. Beyond inspiring. So my first full day of vacation? I was awake at 6:45 in the morning and spent a few hours out on the balcony, working on my book. Typical for a vacation? Probably not, but that’s okay. I know I sound like a broken record by this point, but I am SO RIDICULOUSLY EXCITED about writing this manuscript, there’s so much joy and love going into it, that I couldn’t even think of stopping while I’m away. A working vacation? Time to write every morning while looking at the ocean? Nothing sounds better.

How I started my day:

Early morning sun

Laptop

View, laptop, & journal

View 1

View 2

For me, being here is a reminder to embrace every moment, every inspiration – to live by the current that leads you toward your dreams, to play by the tides and take a chance on your passion, and to follow the sun to bright horizons. What about you? What place inspires you the most?

13 thoughts on “Vacation? What’s that?

  1. YAY!!!! I have that same happy lovey feeling with my new ms too. And I’m also going on vacation next week, but, haha, I totally anticipate lots of writing (and reading) time. (Hey, it’s a cruise.)

    The answer to your question, for me, is a funny one: TRAVEL (i.e., new places) inspires me the most, but the “place” that makes me the most productive is right here, this state of mind, this enthusiasm I feel for my story and my characters. :)

    • Is it not one of the best, most inspiring feelings ever? There’s just nothing like that excitement when you’re so in love with writing a manuscript that you never want to stop. I hope you have the time to get in a lot of writing and reading on your cruise next week! Where are you going? I’ve never been on one, but they seem absolutely wonderful! :-)

      I love, love, LOVE your answer. So often we think of places as somewhere physical, but that mindset of being so excited about and in tune with your characters can be an entity all its own. The scenery and landscape around us may be the most inspiring, but it’s the enthusiasm and joy within us that lead to that spark!

  2. Those pictures are lovely! What an amazing place to work on a manuscript you’re enthusiastic about!

    When I need inspiration, or that push to get the words in my head onto the page, I go to a cafe and people-watch. I adore watching people pass by and guessing about their life stories. Even if it has nothing to do with my ms, it gets my brain working and wondering… and it never fails to help me work.

    But when I’m loving my story as much as you are, I just need to go inside my world wherever I am and the writing flows.

    • Oh my gosh, I couldn’t agree more. I’ve spent part of every summer at the Jersey shore since I was two years old, and I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be working on this manuscript that I’m already so truly in love with writing. It’s the best of both worlds!

      It’s funny that you mentioned that about cafes and people watching. I’ve heard other writers say that, too, and it really does seem like such a perfect place to just make you stop and think. It’s something I touched on in the book I’m currently querying agents for, actually – the idea of being there with so many other people and wondering who they are, what their stories are, if they’re happy, etc. It seems like such a great way to kick your imagination and curiosity into high gear. But, like you said – when you’re that in love with writing and that enthused about a project, the place doesn’t matter. All that matters is your own writing world and what you do with it!

  3. Interesting thought I have: Do you think writing and being an introvert are somehow linked together? Because it seems as if some of the best writers are introverts. Just wondering.

    • Ooohh, good question. I’ve definitely read a lot of commentary from authors who say the same thing. I don’t know if they’re always linked, but writing is definitely somewhat of a solitary endeavor in that it comes from your heart and you translate that to the page on your own. Writers certainly spend countless hours with their computers as they work. But even though the process itself might be suited to introverts, I think it goes beyond that. Sharing your writing with others, talking with fellow writers about the process (and more), meeting up with people who love the craft as much as you do … and then down the line, working as a team with an agent and editor (if you’re blessed enough to have them), that can make it not so solitary. I guess maybe it’s an individual thing – it can be linked to being an introvert if you want it to, but it can also extend beyond.

      • Well, do you consider yourself more introverted like me? Because I consider myself a good writer as well, although I’m not really into fiction writing like you are. But I’m pretty good at writing autobiographies and memoirs.

        • Hmm … I suppose I’d say I’m a mix, depending on what people I’m with at the time. There are definitely times when I’m more introverted – and when I’m in the middle of a project and want nothing more than to write, write, write, that probably shows more than usual. I’ve spent so much time working lately, but I love every minute. Balance has been the name of the game on vacation, though – early morning writing, rest of the day with my family. Honestly, I think that balance is key all the time.

          I give you so much credit for writing autobiographies and memoirs — they seem both challenging and rewarding!!

          • Sounds to me like your more on the introverted side. And I haven’t really written any autobiographies or memoirs, I just feel if I were a writer, they’d be easier to write as opposed to fiction.

  4. For as long as I’ve known you, I’ve remembered your trips to the shore and how much you love it there. I can definitely see the inspiration you can draw from it! Sounds like a wonderful vacation in my opinion, because you are where you want to be and doing what you love – writing! I’m so excited for you!!!

    • You are too sweet! You’ve always been one of the most truly supportive people I know, and it’s appreciated more than I can ever say. I consider myself so lucky to have you as a friend. And it’s too funny that you mention that about remembering our trips to the shore, because I was just thinking yesterday about the time when we were here for a month and I called you the day after we saw Clay in Atlantic City … I think it was a two hour long conversation! :-)

      Yes, that is exactly it! So many people look at me like I’m crazy when I say that I’m voluntarily waking up at 6:45 every morning to write, but for me, there’s just nothing I’d rather do. Like you said – I’m doing what I love most in one of the places I love most (and working on a manuscript that I’m seriously having the time of my life with) … what could be better?

  5. You seriously amaze me. Seriously. Seriously. What is your full-time job?
    What strikes me about you is your: A) confidence, B) passion.
    Gosh, you seem so secure in yourself. Amazing.
    I admit that I often feel confused in life – what I really want or something. And I spend a lot of time “wasted” and feel bad for what I could or should be doing. I’m working on stopping that thinking.
    There is no right or wrong way to do things in life. It just ebbs and flows and we learn along the way.
    I’ll buy your book when it comes out…I don’t care…your passion convinces me it will be a terrific read :)

    • Oh goodness, thank you so, so much for all your kind words. They are very appreciated. I do freelance writing along with working on my novels – so I’m pretty much writing, writing, writing nonstop, but I love it. It’s absolutely my passion, without a doubt. The confidence part I’m not so sure of (it’s always been an issue for me), but I firmly feel that we need to believe in ourselves and our work before we can ask anyone else to, so I try to remind myself of that. It’s a tricky road to navigate sometimes, but I do my best to stay on course.

      And you know, no time is really wasted … every experience can influence and impact you in some way. Like you say, there’s no right or wrong way. There’s only YOUR way, and what you learn in the process can end up changing your life. Your zest and enthusiasm are so apparent … such great qualities to have, and they can only serve you well.

      Thanks again!! :-)

Leave a Reply

