What do you stand for?


“Cause I stand for the power to change,
I live for the perfect day.
I love ’til it hurts like crazy,
I hope for a hero to save me.
I stand for the strange and lonely,
I believe there’s a better place.
I don’t know if the sky is heaven,
But I pray anyway.”
~Idina Menzel, “I Stand”

Most times, I like to plan and think through blog topics ahead of time. What lyrics have been speaking to me lately? What quote has resonated particularly strongly? What book or author do I want to talk about? This entry is a bit different. I just bought Idina’s CD (the one purchase in my Barnes & Noble box that wasn’t a book), and even though I’ve only listened to it twice so far, this song stood out immediately. It reminds me of a quote that most of you have probably heard, too: “if you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.” And that, in turn, got me thinking about what my current MC stands for, and also what I stand for. Out of everything in the world, what do I believe in the most?

I stand for the passion to follow your dreams.
I stand for the determination to see them through.
I stand for the courage to keep going even when the odds say you shouldn’t.
I stand for the belief that we control our destinies, that we make our own luck.
I stand for the power to change the world, even if it’s just in a small way.
I stand for the strength to fight for our goals – and for others’.
I stand for hope, for faith, for dedication.
I stand for good, for change, for defying gravity.


And I don’t know
What tomorrow brings
The road less traveled
Will it set us free?

Those are my favorite lyrics from the song. For most of us, it’s impossible to predict what tomorrow brings. But what we can do, if we want, is consider and decide what we will bring to tomorrow. Will we take the road less traveled if it’s the one that sets us free? Will we take the path that leads to our dreams, even if it’s one that twists and turns? It can be a hard decision sometimes, but what I’ve learned through this quest to become a published author is that it’s such a worthwhile road to take. Have I reached my destination yet? No, but what I truly believe now is that the journey is every bit as important. Idina asks in the song, “what is my vision?” and “do I have a plan?” I consider myself lucky to be able to answer those questions. Sure, right now they’re still playing out in my dreams, but that’s the first step to making them reality, right?

So … what do you stand for? What’s your plan?

2 thoughts on “What do you stand for?

  1. I stand for creativity and free expression. I hate censorship (in most cases, though i’m all for bleeping out certain words on TV). I stand for everyone being able to lead the life they want, even if i don’t agree with it. I stand for following dreams, even if they’re a little crazy. <3

Leave a Reply

