Breaking with tradition.

No quote or lyrics for this entry. No waxing poetic about a certain topic, writing-related or otherwise. No long post at all, actually. Just an all-encompassing SQUEEEEEEEEE over the manuscript that I have just so completely fallen in love with writing. I know, I know, I’ve mentioned it so many times that everyone is probably beyond tired of it by now. But the chapter I wrote yesterday and today? The one the whole book has been leading to, the one I’ve been so excited to work on since the outlining and plotting stages? It singlehandedly took my passion for writing and upped it tenfold. Not going to lie, I shed a few tears throughout … so, so proud of my MC and the lessons she’s learned. I always adore when my characters have epiphanies, and this time, well, it was just something really special for me, too. I’ve never been so emotionally invested in any project I’ve worked on, but with this one, it’s beyond my control. It’s beyond words.

Other than love. Love, love, love. Inspired, inspired, inspired. That’s what I feel right now.

Four chapters left. I can’t imagine how I’m going to cry when this is over … but I think that’s a good thing. That connection, it’s what writing is all about. And this book? It’s truly shown me that I cannot comprehend doing anything else with my life.

4 thoughts on “Breaking with tradition.

  1. I love that you love this. It’s the most amazing feeling, isn’t it? Can’t wait to pick up your book at a bookstore and say, ‘I know her!’ (Well, you know, kinda haha)

    • One of the best feelings ever, no doubt about it. And you are too sweet … thank you! I think it’s fair to say that we definitely know each other after all these years. I may not have met you in person yet, but I consider you a great friend!!

  2. That’s amazing! The fact that you’re so in love with this manuscript means that love will without doubt shine through every page.

    I think I need to absorb some of that love by association to get my productivity rolling again! I just have to remind myself: you love this story, Erin…

    • Thank you so much!! I truly hope so. I’ve genuinely loved every major project I’ve worked on, but there’s just something really different about this one. It has been nothing but a pure joy to write, a true work of heart in every way. As excited as I am to write the ending, I can already tell it’s going to be so bittersweet.

      And hey, sometimes we all need that reminder. When you’re working on something day in and day out, it can be easy for that spark to take a breather every now and then. The most important thing is that you love the story … that will propel you to keep pushing forward! It’s so easy to see your passion for writing and your commitment to the craft. I have no doubt that your love for it all will also shine through your work :-)

Leave a Reply

