Blooming Magnolias ♥


“I’ve met some go-getters, some difference makers
Small town heroes and big chance takers
I’ve met some young hearts with something to prove
Here’s to you long shots, you dark horse runners
Hairbrush singers and dashboard drummers
Here’s to you wild magnolias just waiting to bloom
There’s a little bit of all that inside of me and you
Thank God even crazy dreams come true.”
~Carrie Underwood, “Crazy Dreams”

That tearful post I promised? Here we go.

I’m sitting here and attempting to figure out how to write an entry that even comes close to describing how bittersweet it was to finish my first draft today. Honestly, though, I really can’t find the words. I could say it feels surreal to think that for the first time in two months, I won’t be writing a new scene tomorrow morning. I could say that I cried several times when I was working on the final chapter. I could say that writing the last word of the last chapter today was beyond emotional. And all of those things would be true. But to summarize how it actually felt? Sometimes emotion transcends words.

Writing this has, without a doubt, been one of the best experiences of my life. You know how sometimes there’s just something that grabs you and refuses to let go? That’s what this story is for me. It’s so different from anything I’ve ever written before. Not one day while I was working on it did I want to take a break. Never once did I not feel that joy as I was writing. This story is absolutely my baby and nothing – NOTHING – will ever change that. It took my passion for writing and multipled it tenfold. It reminded me that I will never, ever stop until this is my career. It showed me in no uncertain times that writing is my true work of heart. It sounds cliche, but getting to go on this journey with my characters has been a privilege. Their choices, their mistakes, their challenges, their epiphanies, their joys … I feel like I’ve lived it all, too. Never before have I felt so connected to anyone or anything I’ve written. This story managed to wrap itself around my heart and never let go. And you know? I’ll be forever grateful.

I was saving these song lyrics for the day when (fingers crossed tight as can be!) an agent offers representation. After all, what could be more fitting, right? But then I was thinking … no matter what happens on the rest of the journey, writing this particular novel has already been a dream come true in so many ways. I’ve learned so much about myself as a writer, so much about myself as a person. I may not be a wild magnolia, but just working on this manuscript has made me bloom. It has been a joy in every possible way. There truly are no words to describe what it’s been like, other than to say it’s been the absolute time of my life.

And yes, it’s my not-so-crazy dream come true. Here’s to many more in the future. What about you? What crazy dreams are you making come true?

5 thoughts on “Blooming Magnolias ♥

  1. You are so so so so amazing. So amazing.

    I feel I am making no dreams come true. They are fuzzy and I can’t straighten them out. I wish I could find that something (as you have) that pulls me in and that I fly through with passion and fierce devotion.

    I can’t find it. Or it hasn’t come to me yet.

    I need to try harder. But I’m tired also.

    Gosh, you are so inspiring, it hurts.

    • Aww, well thank you! I certainly don’t see myself that way at all, but your kind words are very appreciated.

      Like you said, maybe it has to just come to you. There are some things that can’t be forced … all you can do is try and work toward making that fuzziness clearer. You have the dedication to do it, I have faith! :-)

  2. I love this post. <3

    I'm so proud of you for finishing the first leg of this amazing journey. You seem so so so happy; it inspires me! Your motivation is incredible…i can't believe the first draft is done already! i can remember sitting at my computer, reading your emails while you were debating whether or not to write this story because you were worried about relating to the main character. Well, we all know how that turned out. ;] congrats again!

    • You are so sweet … thank you!! I’m so glad you’ve been there throughout the journey for this book. Your support seriously means more than you know … YOU are the inspiring one! I was just thinking this morning about how hesitant I was at first about writing this story … thank goodness I got over that, because I seriously can’t imagine NOT having worked on this. As sad as I felt this morning when I woke up and didn’t have a new chapter to start, I’m also so happy with how it turned out and so excited to take it further.

      Thank you again … and for being there along the way! <3

      (Your email is coming, promise!!)

  3. Pingback: A Work of Heart ♥ « Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

