Falling into Autumn.


“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf’s a flower.”
~Albert Camus

Okay, so I’m a bit (erm … almost a month) late, but I’ve been so busy working on my book that I haven’t really taken the time to get out there and enjoy the beautiful autumn weather like I should. Cool, crisp air that makes you want to wrap a scarf around your neck and drink apple cider, the inviting picture Mother Nature paints by turning the trees into a portrait of inviting color, the leaves crunching beneath your feet and adding a spring to your step – there simply is no other time of year quite like this one. It’s invigorating, energizing, inspiring.

tree #1

And, even though spring is the season traditionally associated with rebirth and reblossoming, fall brings those same qualities with it. It’s a chance to start anew after the lazy, hazy days of summer, an opportunity to go out and explore a world ripe with promise and infused with possibility. Everything seems doable, everything seems attainable. And yes, maybe that’s wishful thinking combined with a good deal of dreaming big, but who’s to say there’s something wrong with that? Maybe we have to put that good karma out there so that it can come back to us.

view from window

This autumn has absolutely been filled with inspiration for me. It’s been almost two weeks now since I finished my first draft (seriously, how is it even possible for time to fly that fast?) and I’ve been busy editing, editing, and editing some more. The actual writing will always be my favorite part of the process, but I’ve actually grown quite fond of revising, too. There’s something really fun about taking the framework and tightening all its pieces into place. I tend to be a bit wordy in my initial drafts, so going back over (and over … and over) and pulling everything closer together is definitely necessary. I’m having an absolute blast watching it all come together, though. I started working on my query letter today (always good to get a jump start, right?), and even though the idea of condensing three hundred pages into two paragraphs is always a bit intimidating, that too can actually be a lot of fun once you start working. Honestly, there isn’t a single part of the process that I don’t enjoy. And that? It reminds me yet again that this is what I need to be doing with my life. There’s no way I’ll settle for anything less than what I love.

tree 2

What about you? What does autumn inspire you to do? What’s your favorite part of this beautiful season – cooler weather, pumpkin patches, changing leaves? All of the above?

2 thoughts on “Falling into Autumn.

  1. You absolutely sum up everything I love about autumn — crunchy, colorful leaves underfoot. Being wrapped up in a sweatshirt while drinking steaming tea. The smell of a roaring fire. So many good foods.

Leave a Reply

