Why?


“Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.”
~Gloria Steinem

Why do I write?

I write because it brings me immeasurable joy.
I write because it’s my way of defying gravity.
I write because it awakens a love in my soul that’s indescribable.
I write because my characters’ journeys keep me awake at night.
I write because that blank page is really just an open canvas.
I write because it’s my way of dreaming too far and hoping too much.
I write because my characters become a part of who I am.
I write because that’s where my heart is.
I write because it reminds me that reaching for the stars is a good thing.
I write because there are stories I have to tell.
I write because I genuinely believe it can make a difference.
I write because I want to.
I write because I need to.
I write because it’s who I am.
I write because I can’t not write.

Sometimes we all need a reminder. I got mine today when I needed it the most, and I’m deeply grateful ♥ ♥

10 thoughts on “Why?

    • Isn’t that really what it comes down to? Our characters may insist on being difficult sometimes, their journeys may twist and turn, and our journeys may be a total emotional rollercoaster … but at the end of the day, what counts the most is that we have to keep working. We can’t not write. Wonderful, isn’t it? :-)

    • I couldn’t agree more. It’s always so great to get a glimpse of someone’s passion. It’s such an important part of who we all are. I love, love, love reading everyone’s posts on that! :-)

  1. This is one of the most compelling depictions of a passion that I’ve ever read. You summed it up perfectly, Shari. Every reason that I could think of for doing what I do is presented on this page with more clarity than I could have hoped to bring to the subject. Thank you for sharing your gift with all of us.

    • Jena, I cannot begin to tell you how much your kind words mean to me. I’ve had a rough couple days, but it’s people like you who consistently remind me to keep pursuing my passions and reaching for those dreams. You are truly an inspiration – with your writing prowess AND with the way you live your life. Thank you for everything :-)

  2. I was out for a run today and was thinking about the same thing. Why do I put so much of myself into something that isn’t a career? But then I realized – it’s me. It stabilizes me. It excites me. It expresses me. I love my blog.

    • Isn’t it amazing how therapeutic and helpful a blog can be? It reminds me of that whole “write to think” concept … there’s just something about it that’s so uniquely expressive and freeing.

      I love your blog, too. It’s inspiring! :-)

Leave a Reply

