What it’s Like.


“When you think you’re drowning
When it’s overwhelming
When you can’t get past it, yeah
You still won’t know what it’s like…”
~Kelly Clarkson, “You Still Won’t Know What It’s Like”

Confession: I may or may not have based this post around the fact that I love, love, love Kelly’s new song and desperately wanted to use the lyrics on here. Okay, perhaps “desperately” is an exaggeration, but the rest is true. There’s just something special about this song, something that struck me from the first time I heard it. It’s genuine. It’s sincere. It’s emotional. It’s raw.

We’ve all been in that place that Kelly’s talking about. We’ve all been overwhelmed, or maybe underwhelmed. We’ve all felt like we’re swimming against the tide, like the current we want to travel is going in the opposite direction. After all, we’re only human. We all have our moments of discouragement. Even amongst that disappointment, though, isn’t there always something to be grateful for? Isn’t there hope to reach for, faith to grasp? It might be something small, but it’s still there. That’s the way I try to approach things, at least. It’s easy to feel let down sometimes. It’s easy to feel frustrated and like everything is out of your hands. It’s easy to wonder if your dreams are ever going to turn into reality. But maybe that’s when it’s the most important to renew that determination and stretch that belief.

Sometimes when people ask me about this journey to publication, I find it very difficult to put the emotional rollercoaster into words. How do I describe what it’s like? How do I possibly vocalize it? Here’s my attempt: Exciting. Overwhelming. Magical. Inspirational. Challenging. Trying. Hopeful. Resilient. Emotional. Loving. Whirlwind (okay, in the interest of making this the proper word form: whirlwindish? whirlwind-like?). Exhilarating. Painful. All-encompassing. Dizzying. Therapeutic. Touching. And, above all: Amazing. Truly, beautifully amazing. I’m not a fan of rollercoasters. You couldn’t pay me to set foot on one in an amusement park. But when it comes to this one? You couldn’t pay me to climb off.

For me, this is what it’s like. Not everyone may understand it, and that’s okay. We all have our own passions. We all should have our own passions. One of my favorite things is to ask people about theirs and hear the responses. No, I may not know what those dreams are like, but I’d love to find out. So, tell me – what inspires you? What’s it like?

4 thoughts on “What it’s Like.

  1. Excellent post!

    Passion. I think that passion is . . . Passion. Passion is what drives everything. Pursuing excellence with passion is one of the most important things to do.

    Personally, I am passionate about medicine and medical research. I want to be attend medical school and become a Neurologist or Neurosurgeon. What inspires me is a passion for knowledge , or a passion to know the human brain, in part at least. It is internal curiosity. The other part of the inspiration comes from some personal encounters with children afflicted with brain disorders. Just seeing them is enough to engage a fire inside me to reach medical school.

    • Hi – and thanks for stopping by!

      I couldn’t agree more. Passion is absolutely a driving force. It’s amazing how far it can push you and how much it can lead you to achieve. There really is nothing like it. Best of luck to you with all your goals!!

Leave a Reply

