Freeze Frame.


“We try to grab pieces of our lives as they speed past us. Photographs freeze those pieces and help us remember.”
~Gene McSweeney

I’m a picture fanatic. Ask anyone who knows me, and they’ll tell you that a camera is never far from my hand. I love that we can document the moments in our lives — the memories, the milestones, and the ordinary experiences that are extraordinary in their own right. As 2010 draws to a close, I thought I’d take a look back through the lens of a camera.

It snowed a bit – and by a bit, I mean that it was the snowiest winter on record:

Snow

March brought spring weather, the opportunity to meet author and actress extraordinaire Carolyn Hennesy, a fabulous Carrie Underwood concert, and the start of my querying for With a Little Bit of Luck:

Cherry Tree

Carolyn

Carrie

One of my favorite days all year was May 19th, when I had the chance to meet and talk with New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin. She’s a true inspiration, and I’ll remember this experience always.

Emily

Emily

Emily

NYC in June was wonderful – Central Park, finally seeing Wicked in person, and meeting another favorite author and true writing inspiration, Allison Winn Scotch:

Central Park

Wicked

Allison

Allison

The summer was … rough. Really rough. Unexpected loss and unexpected injuries made for a difficult time for my family and many others. Among all the sadness, pain, and frustration, though, there were a few bright spots. The American Idol concert was a much needed distraction in the middle of a very bad week, and a postponed trip to the shore was an oasis of calm, inspiration, and probably my favorite writing time all year. I began Reflections of Me in August and it quickly grew into a joy unlike anything that words can describe. That novel is my heart.

Didi

Ocean

Sanderlings

Balcony

With a brisk chill in the air and a blanket of golden, amber, and red leaves rustling to the ground, fall was a relatively quiet time. I finished Reflections of Me in mid-October and can honestly say it was an experience like no other. I’m in the middle of the long – and sometimes difficult – querying process now, but whenever it gets discouraging, all I need to do is think of how much I truly and wholly adored writing that book and going on Sofie’s journey with her. I cried when I finished, and no matter what, that novel will always, always, always be my baby and writing it will forever be something I cherish. I happily worked on it nonstop, every day, but I did find time for a few NYC adventures along the way, including seeing Melinda perform at Carnegie Hall:

Melinda - Carnegie

Simon & Schuster

Promises, Promises

Kristin Chenoweth

Kristin Chenoweth

Molly Shannon

Back to winter again: full circle in some ways, so far beyond that in others. It’s been a holiday season filled with light and love, family and friends.

Menorah

Dreidel

Gram

MK's Christmas Tree

Sometimes pictures really can speak a thousand words. I’m so glad to have these in my 2010 scrapbook. I’ll be back with another year-in-review post soon, but for now … well, I think I’ll go find my camera and document a new memory.

5 thoughts on “Freeze Frame.

  1. Shari, I love this! <3 You are so amazing with words, it boggles my mind. I had chills all over when I was reading this. I had no idea summer was such a difficult time for you. I am so glad you have come out of it with perspective and hope. Have a great weekend, my friend!

    • Thank you so much! Honestly, your kind words mean more than I can say <3

      Parts of the summer were very, very rough – we suddenly and unexpectedly lost my Grandmom Dot, and my mom had a bad fall that she's still going to physical therapy for all these months later. It was a hard time, but we all tried to deal with it the best we could and, like you said, find some perspective, hope, and lessons learned.

      Thank you again for the sweet comment, Katie. I hope you're having a marvelous weekend, too!

    • Natalia! I’m so glad I found your blog – not only are your posts filled with smiles and sunshine, but your comments are always so genuinely sweet. I’m looking forward to getting to know you better, too!

  2. Pingback: Here’s to tomorrow… « Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

