Hope & Faith.

Hey there sad eyes, what’s on your mind?
Don’t look so down, give it some time
You don’t have to be so hard on yourself
I know the world can be a brutal place
Please don’t let it steal your smile away

‘Cause when the sky is darkest, you can see the stars
And when you fall the hardest, you’ll find how strong you are
Close your eyes, rest awhile, it’s been a long, long day
So come on baby, baby, have a little faith

Let those tears fall, you gave it your all
That’s all you can do, I’ll be here for you
There goes your pride, crushed on the ground
Sometimes it takes a wall to tumble down
For you to see who’s gonna stick around

‘Cause when the sky is darkest, you can see the stars
And when you fall the hardest, you find how strong you are
Close your eyes, rest awhile, it’s been a long, long day
So come on baby, baby, have a little faith

Sometimes it gets worse before it gets better, yeah
And it takes so much to be brave
Sometimes you’re afraid it’ll hurt forever
But when all the lights begin to fade

And the sky is darkest, you can see the stars
When you fall the hardest, you’ll find how strong you are
Close your eyes and rest awhile, it’s been a long, long day
So come on baby, baby, have a little faith
~Jordin Sparks, “Faith”

No actual entry this time, just words of inspiration from the talented Ms. Sparks. A song that comforts? Yes. Something to remember? Yes. Faith in spades? Absolutely.

10 thoughts on “Hope & Faith.

    • Thanks so much for your concern, Erin — it’s really appreciated. Everything’s okay. I had a very disappointing development on the querying front that’s had me really upset, so I figured I’d throw up those lyrics as a reminder about the importance of everyone having hope and faith :)

  1. You know this makes me smile :) This song is my heart. Keep your chin up, girl. Things really DO get better and really DO always happen the way they are supposed to, so have a little faith! Love you<3

    • I’m a big believer in that, too – that things happen the way they’re supposed to and when they’re supposed to. It’s really tough to remember that sometimes, but like you (and Jordin!) say, it’s all about having faith. Thank you for the reminder, thank you for being such a wonderful friend, thank you for all your support <3

  2. Oh, that’s lovely! So sorry to hear about your disappointing query development. (I read your comment above.) I hope the next one pans out for you. Querying is so nerve-wracking.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. It was actually one of the sweetest responses that I’ve gotten and one that had a pretty profound effect on me, but sometimes those “almost but not quite” situations feel like the toughest of all. In the end, though, it was a positive experience and one that I’m very grateful to have had.

      And yes, I agree – it can be SO nerve-wracking. Talk about an emotional rollercoaster! Best of luck to you with it, as well!!

      • Those are sometimes the hardest, aren’t they? They give you hope that you’re on the right track, but at the same time they leave you wishing you had that particular agent because they’re so wonderful. At least, if we’re both picturing the same type of query response!

        • That is EXACTLY what my thought process is. Those responses always make me feel like I’m walking a tight-rope between hope and disappointment, but I try to make a conscious choice to let the hope win out. Optimism is everything, right? :)

          • Exactly. By the way, I never do this, but it sounds like we’re around the same stage in our writing…Do you want to trade a query critique? If you’ve already had yours critiqued a bunch of times don’t worry about it, but if you’re up for it, well, you have my email address with this comment. :-) I’m pretty picky when critiquing; some people like that, whereas others just want to hear “You’re wonderful! Your writing’s perfect! Don’t change a thing!” Just a warning. My query is for a paranormal YA romance. It’s not my first book, but it’s the first one I’ve seriously queried. I’ve already had a couple people look at it, but another opinion is always welcome. Again, no biggie if you don’t have the time or whatever – especially since we don’t even know each other.

Leave a Reply

