Something Borrowed.


“I made safe, careful choices and hoped that things would fall into place for me. Then I fell in love with Dex and still viewed it as something happening to me. I hoped that he would make things right, or that fate would intervene. But I have learned that you make your own happiness, that part of going for what you want means losing something else. And when the stakes are high, the losses can be that much greater.”
~Rachel White, via Emily Giffin in Something Borrowed

SOBO1

It’s no secret that Emily Giffin is one of my absolute favorite authors. The way she crafts her characters into people we relate to, people we understand, people we honestly feel as though we know … it’s remarkable. Emily has a distinct talent for telling stories that resonate. They stay with us for days, weeks, months after we read the final page. They leave a handprint on our hearts, and through that, Emily is able to connect with her readers in a very real, very special way. Add in the fact that she’s one of the most genuine, kind, gracious people you’ll ever meet, and, well, how could she not be a favorite? And her novels, how can they not follow suit? I rarely re-read books, but Emily’s are the exception – and, like an old friend, they simply get better with time.

SOBO2

So when I heard that Something Borrowed was being made into a movie, I was beyond excited. I’m usually wary when a favorite book (actually, any book) is turned into a movie, because it’s often really hard to translate the magic of the story to the big screen. Important plot points are changed, meanings get lost in translation, new twists and turns are added. But with this movie, I had faith from the beginning that it would do the novel justice. Emily kept us all in the loop via her facebook page , and her involvement in the process made me sure that the movie would stay true to the book. After seeing it last night, I’m happy to report that it does just that. It was a perfect reflection of Emily’s story and vision, a perfect portrayal of these characters whom I loved from page one of the book. Without giving too much away (seriously – go see this movie for yourself, I promise you’ll be glad you did), I’ll just say that the casting is extraordinary all around. The actors get their characters and their hearts, and they did a fabulous job turning the written word into the spoken word. Ginnifer Goodwin positively shone as Rachel, Colin Egglesfield epitomized Dex, Kate Hudson was the perfect Darcy, and John Krasinski brought the house down as Ethan. My favorite parts: the badminton scene, the dance scene in Rachel’s apartment, the flashbacks, the ending, the sneak peek during the credits, and, of course, Emily’s fabulous cameo!

SOBO3

I was proud to sit in the (nearly sold out!) theater and watch this story come to life all over again, just like it does in the book. Emily always paints such a compelling picture with her words, and now that picture is playing out on the big screen, too. To say I’m elated for her is an understatement. The movie is absolutely fantastic. Every moment is a joy, and I already can’t wait to see it again. As I’ve alluded to on here, it’s been a very long, very draining, very emotional two weeks for me and my family, and this movie gave me something to look forward to amidst it all. Emily’s writing, characters, dedication, and passion have inspired me more than words can say, and seeing her novel up there on the movie theater screen reminded me again why I cannot, will not, ever give up on my own publication journey.

SOBO4

Like Rachel, I believe that we make our own happiness. Fate and serendipity may be out there, but what we choose to do with them is entirely on us. And sure, high stakes also means the possibility for greater losses. But we’ll never know unless we try, and don’t we owe ourselves that? Don’t we owe it to ourselves to go for what we want and grab for our goals? Happiness is within our reach … we just have to make it happen. Thanks, Emily, for that reminder.

Have any of your favorite books been made into movies? Did you like the film version?

18 thoughts on “Something Borrowed.

  1. YAY i’m so glad you loved the movie! :] I think my mom and I are going to see it soon, so I’ll let you know what I think. From all the previews I’ve seen, it looks adorable and funny and sweet <3.

    Oh gosh, SO MANY of my books have been made into movies, namely Harry Potter. I try and separate them from the books and not be nitpicky about every little detail, because these are HUGE books, and the screenwriters can't possibly include everything. Two of my other favorite series, The Hunger Games and The Mortal Instruments are in the casting phase right now. I'm nervously excited for both, praying that one of them (or both) will fill my post-Harry Potter void, since the last movie comes out in July.

    • I hope you both enjoyed it today! I’m really curious to hear what you think. Obviously I’m biased since I loved the book, but it seemed like everyone in the theater enjoyed it, regardless of whether or not they’d read the book beforehand.

      It’s so funny that you mentioned Harry Potter – one of the previews during SoBo was for the last one that comes out in July. My sister is a huge HP fan, too, and she’s always saying the same thing about the movies, that it would be impossible to translate everything to the screen. I know they split the last book into two movies, but did they do that with any others, too?

      • First of all, I adored the movie! Ginnifer Goodwin was precious, and John Krasinski’s Ethan was my absolute favorite. <3 Having not read the book, I don't know how it compares, but as a movie I loved it. My favorite parts were the badminton scene and the Rachel/Darcy dance in her apartment.

        As for Harry Potter, this is the only book they chose to split into two movies. I was super nervous at first, knowing I wouldn't react well at the end of the first movie when they cut it off (I was right, I completely bawled when I realized it was the last scene and they were cutting it off there, I didn't want it to be over), but in hindsight, I'm so glad they did. This will give them enough screentime to devote to the really important things that happen at the end. Plus, it's not quite as hard to be patient because I know what happens at the end. I know some people who haven't read the books and only see the movies, and they must have been DYING when the first part of the movie ended, because it was a huge cliffhanger. They try to get me to tell them what happens next, but that's when I interject with my nudge nudge…read the books! ;]

        • I’m so glad you liked it!! I was really curious how it would come across to someone who hadn’t read the book first. The novel is definitely more detailed and introspective (I highly recommend it!), but I thought the movie did a really great job of conveying the message and themes of the book. One big difference was that Ethan had an expanded role in the movie (to set up for the second book/movie), and I was SO glad for that, because JK was priceless! He just epitomized the role and brought Ethan to life so wonderfully :)

          Your HP devotion makes me smile. I love how invested you get in the books and movies. It sounds like the ending of the last one was crazy (I remember my sister saying the same thing about the cut off point). So has your gentle nudging convinced anyone to read the books instead of waiting for the final movie? Even having never seen any of them, something tells me that it’ll have to be even longer than the others to fit in all the details and important scenes from the ending!

          • Haha I actually convinced Kyle to read them! He kept asking me to tell him what happened (I refused, of course! Me and spoilers do not mesh well), and then he threatened to just buy the last book and flip to the end. Needless to say, I almost had a heart attack and insisted he start from the first book. I’ve gotten a few of my other friends addicted, too, but Kyle is my most recent success!

            Oooh, and are they going to make the second book into a movie, too? From the ending, it looked like they’d set it up really well for a sequel! And I’m definitely adding Something Borrowed to my to-read list, which is insanely long already. This summer is going to be full of books! :]

            • Okay, so I’ve never read the HP series, but I seriously can’t imagine flipping to the very last page and skipping all the thousands that came before it!! With those books especially, it seems like they’re all building toward the ending – reading it without the backstory must take away SO much of the meaning. Good job on getting everyone addicted to the books ;-)

              And yes, they’re hoping to! The actors all seem to be on board, and from what Emily’s been saying, the fate of the sequel depends on how well this one does at the box office. Fingers crossed!! I love how they set it up for the sequel at the end, with that scene during the credits. And YAY for adding SoBo to your reading list. I’ll be excited to hear what you think :)

  2. I didn’t realize that was Emily making a cameo! I was just so excited, like, “Hey, that lady is reading Something Blue! How cool is that?!” haha. I’m hoping they’ll make that one into a movie too. I loved the movie! My new goal is to go to that Shake Shack because apparently Shake Shack is really good, and that one just looked so pretty that I had to Google where in Manhattan it is! Next time I’m in the city I’m gonna try to get there for lunch!

    • Yes, that was Emily! I knew what scene she was going to be in ahead of time (and that she was reading Something Blue), but I wasn’t sure when in the movie it was, so every time there was a park scene, I was on alert :P I’m really hoping they get the green light for that movie, too. Emily said it depends on how this one does, so fingers crossed.

      I’d never heard of Shake Shack before, but you’re right – it looks really good and that area looks so pretty!! I’m excited to hear what you think when you go :)

  3. I loved the danced scene too, but it made me sad to watch them so happy and loving of one another, all their history wrapped up into those 2 minutes of fun…all while knowing it was about to come crashing down. I liked the movie too, but as usual, I never think they can truly do a good book justice.

    Don’t get me started on My Sister’s Keeper.

    • Me too! That scene seemed to be a favorite in the theater both times I saw the movie – people were laughing and clapping along – and it made me curious how many of them had read the book and knew what was coming. I wish there’d been a little more focus on their decades-long friendship, like there was in the book, but I guess they could only include so many flashbacks. Fingers crossed Something Blue gets made, too, and more is included in the sequel! :)

  4. I’m super excited to see this movie, although I am wary about Kate Hudson living up to my image of Darcy. I never thought she’d translate well as a blonde, but I’ll have to see the movie I guess!

    • I thought the same thing before seeing the movie – and while Kate wouldn’t have been my first choice for Darcy, she did a good job bringing her to life all over again. The others were all great, too, especially Ginnifer as Rachel and John as Ethan. He was my favorite part of the whole movie :)

      • I almost peed my pants (untrue story) when I saw he was cast as Ethan. I couldn’t think of a more perfect fit. I need to round up the girls and go see this ASAP! :)

        • Agreed – he was absolutely perfect for the role. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that SoBo makes enough money for Something Blue to be filmed, because I would loooooooove to see him in an even bigger role.

          I’ll be excited to hear what you think of the movie when you see it!

  5. It’s so cool that the author has a cameo in the movie. I’m going to have to look for her specifically. And, is that one of her own books that she’s reading? It kind of looks like her style. Nice *winkwinknodnod* to her readers.

    • Isn’t it? When I went to her book signing last year, she mentioned during the Q&A that she was in the process of choosing which scene to be in – so glad she decided on the park one! It’s a quick cameo (fairly close to the end of the movie, for when you’re looking for her), but it was really cool to see her in it after following along on the whole journey with her. And yes, that’s Something Blue that she’s reading! Such a fun idea and way to acknowledge all her readers!

  6. Pingback: Love & Friendship. |

  7. Pingback: Looking Back & Looking Forward. « Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

