Play Ball.


“You don’t save a pitcher for tomorrow. Tomorrow it may rain.”
~Leo Durocher

For as long as I can remember, my dad’s been the biggest Phillies fan I know. He collects memorabilia, goes to games, counts down to spring training, and yes, even jumps up and down sometimes when the team scores important runs. When they won the World Series in 2008, he actually cried tears of happiness. He loves baseball with fervent dedication, and he is so proud to support the Phillies. Me? Of the four most major sports, baseball is my favorite, but most of the time, I’d much rather be curled up with a good book than hanging out a ballpark. That said, when my dad asked if my sister and I would like to join him for a game this year, I agreed right away. I’m not really sure why – and I seriously wanted to scream when I found out they switched the American Idol finale days to Tuesday and Wednesday – but I’m glad I went. It was a lot of fun.

Phillies1

Yes, we had to park a zillion miles away. Yes, our seats were in the second highest row of the whole place. Yes, my scoop of ice cream cost more than a whole half-gallon does at the grocery store. And yes, I spent the last couple innings intermittently watching as I voted for Lauren Alaina on my cell phone. But … those sky-high seats? They also happened to be directly behind home plate. That ice cream? It happened to be delicious. The voting? Well – once a determined Idol fan, always a determined Idol fan. The best part, though, was getting to share my dad’s favorite past-time with him. It’s been over ten years since we all went to a game together, and even though my mom had to sit this one out because her knee still isn’t back to normal after last year’s fall, we still had a great time. Dad was in all his glory, chatting about the players, their statistics, and the game with us, and we were happy to listen and enjoy the experience for what it was. Will I be going to a ballgame every month? No, but I wouldn’t mind going once a year from now on.

Phillies2

Phanatic

And, because this wouldn’t be a blog post of mine without some kind of analogy woven in, how about that quote from Leo? He’s talking about baseball in its most literal sense, but what about the figurative? Never put off for tomorrow what you can do today. Never put your dreams on a shelf for tomorrow – open up that box and set them free in the world today. Nobody can predict what the future holds or if the forecast will be sunny, but we can take charge of our own actions and help create our future. Perhaps I’ll let my characters speak to that. Here’s an excerpt from Reflections of Me, part of a conversation Sofie has with her brother:

The way I see it, there are two main principles in a baseball game. You either act or react. A pitcher acts by throwing the ball, a batter reacts by trying to hit it, then the outfielders and basemen react to that. What I’m getting at here is that we have that choice with anything in life. Mom and Dad threw us a curveball with the truth about your adoption, but we all made the decision to react to it in different ways. It’s the same with this. How do you act? How do you react? What constitutes a homerun? What’s analogous to a strikeout?

Sofie’s thought process?

And, just like that, it all gets a bit clearer. I can’t score a run if I don’t leave the dugout. I can’t reach home plate if I don’t take the necessary steps to get there. It’s been the way I’ve lived my life for as long as I can remember. Forget about roadblocks and detours. There’s only one option that stretches before me now.

Sofie is very different from me in some ways and very similar in others. I think that’s why I relate to her so much when I write. I connect with who she is, even though I’ve never experienced the situations she’s in or dealt with the decisions she has to make. Her personality resonates with me. Her passion, faith, and determination remind me of my own. Because she’s right. We can’t score runs without rounding the bases one step at a time. That’s how life works. That’s how writing works. And, I pray, that’s also how dreams come true.

That’d be the biggest Grand Slam of all.

(P.S. Thoughts on last night’s Idol finale? I’ve been rooting for Lauren ever since Pia got voted off way too early, but I’m still happy for Scotty. I think they’ll both go on to successful careers. And, on a side note, next year’s finale needs to forget about the big-name celebrity performers and invite all the former Idol winners and finalists back to sing instead. I’d rather watch Kelly and Melinda than Beyonce and Gaga any day of the week.)

6 thoughts on “Play Ball.

  1. I went to a baseball game once (it was a minor league team though) with one of my friends, and we spent the entire time eating food! Funnel cakes, nachos, cotton candy…it was insane! I didn’t go because I was a diehard fan; I went for the whole experience. And I had a great time because of it! I’m glad you did too. :]

    And as a sidenote, I totally get what you said about relating to the characters even if you don’t have the exact same exerpences. All you need is one common thread to be able to get into their brains!

    • I definitely remember your FB pics from that game. Hopefully the food at minor league ballparks is cheaper than at major league ones. $5 for ice cream is just INSANE, and that wasn’t even the most expensive thing. I can’t imagine how much it must cost to go to a game with a whole family! But speaking of food … you totally made me feel like having funnel cake now! Yum :)

      Agreed completely. Isn’t it amazing how one common thread can expand into a whole ball of yarn that unspools more connections than you even imagined at the outset? (goofy analogy alert!)

  2. I LOVE the scene you posted! Her thought process is so wise, and I have a feeling that’s going to be a pretty pivotal moment in the entire book. It’s a lesson I think everyone needs to hear, so thanks for the reminder. Oh, and by the way, I think you’re missing a period in “different ways It’s the same “.

    • Whoops! Sometimes I’m convinced that my brain moves faster than my hands can type … thanks for the eagle eye! Thank you so much, also, for the kind words about the scene. I really enjoyed exploring the dynamic between Sofie and her brother (it’s so different from what I’m used to with a sister!) and that scene was one of my favorites to write for them. It did indeed end up being a pivotal moment – it’s what ultimately convinces her to go for it and contact her birth mother – and it ends up having an impact on her brother, too. Super fun to write!

  3. I had “6-pack” tickets to last season’s games and it was some of the best times I’ve had with my Manayunk friends. I’m hoping to catch another game at CBP this season.

Leave a Reply

