Long time, no post.


“When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.”
~Franklin D. Roosevelt

To say things have been difficult lately is the understatement of the century. It has been a horrible, terrible, awful week, one that I wish I could obliterate from my memory forever. I feel like I’m trapped in a nightmare with no way out, and I just keep praying, praying, praying that our family gets a miracle. The details are still too hard to discuss, so I’ll just say this: tell people you love them, show people you love them, and cherish every moment with those you hold near and dear to your heart.

My thoughts can’t seem to focus on an actual entry right now, so I have a favor to ask instead. If you’re reading this, leave a comment with something sunny – good or exciting news from your life, an inspirational story, song lyrics that cheer you up, anything at all. I try very hard to always look on the bright side of things on this blog, and even though it’s not really possible for me at the moment, I’d love if y’all could spread the sunshine for me. Thank you in advance! ♥

(And, to those of you who have been in touch, offered your prayers and good wishes for my Gram, checked in on me and been there unconditionally – thank you from the bottom of my heart. It means the world. Love you all.)

14 thoughts on “Long time, no post.

    • Thanks so much, Erin. Even amidst all the sadness and tears of this week, knowing I have such amazing friends for support has been a true comfort.

      And oh my gosh, is that little boy cute! I can’t decide what’s more adorable, the way he’s dressed exactly like they are on the show, or the fact that he has all the dance moves memorized. He – and you – definitely made me smile. Thank you for sharing the link!!

  1. My one-year old niece finally has some hair. She’s got a cute baby mohawk :-)
    I hope things start to turn around for you and your family, Shari. You’re all in my prayers.

    • I took my dog on a walk tonight after a good day of nannying, and listened to this song on my iPod the entire walk. It makes me smile at the same time it makes me want to cry, but I love that either way, I have a strong reaction to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1yOm4K05O8

      Love you. Your strength is going to get you through all this, even if it doesn’t feel like it; and we’re all here for you. ♥

      • First – I am so glad that you’re enjoying the nanny job so much. You’re such a natural at it and those girls must adore you already. Second – thank you, thank you for posting that link. I’ve never heard the song before, but it is so in line with my outlook on life and I can tell it’s going to become a fast favorite. I especially love these lines:

        “I found mayonnaise bottles and poked holes on top
        To capture Tinkerbell
        They were just fireflies to the untrained eye
        But I could always tell”

        “Before you knew me, I traveled ’round the world
        And I slept in castles and fell in love
        Because I was taught to dream”

        They are just … beautiful, inspiring, and filled with hope.

        And third – words cannot express my appreciation for your constant support throughout all of this. You have been there unconditionally, and it has helped more than I can begin to articulate. Sometimes it feels like I’m drowning in this nightmare, but it’s friends like you who pull me back up to the surface. Thank you, thank you, thank you for everything … love you too, and I’m so grateful for your friendship.

    • I cannot BELIEVE she’s a year old already. It feels like only yesterday you were talking about her being born. Why does time always seem to speed up when babies are involved? She sounds so sweet – and the image of a baby mohawk definitely made me smile. There’s just something so priceless about babies, isn’t there?

      Thank you so much for all the continued thoughts and prayers. Like I said in my email last weekend, it really means the world and is more deeply appreciated than I can explain <3

  2. I’m so sorry about the time you’ve had lately, and I’m hoping it gets better soon. As for sharing something that makes me smile, I’ll post some links to a couple cute YouTube videos. I’m also emailing you a few more (since I don’t know how many links I can post before this comment gets kicked into the spam folder)

    Sneezing baby panda (I’m officially sick of this one because Sunshine LOVES it and we just watched it fifteen times in a row)

    Laughing baby:

    • Oh my gosh, how ADORABLE. I can’t decide which one is my favorite — laughing babies are preciously priceless, and the Mama/Baby panda duo is beyond cute. Who knew a little panda could sneeze that loudly?!

      I’m off to check my email — will respond more there.

      Thank you for the links, for all the support, and for being such a wonderful friend.

  3. <3.

    Let's see, fun things…I ate ice cream today for the first time in forever. You should go get some ice cream too! It really does work wonders! I might start Orchid's edits tomorrow…considering wallpapering my desk area with post-its that say EDIT EDIT EDIT so I have no way around it. :p Oh, and I talked to Kyle the other day, and we're picking possible days to meet up with you! :D He's handling all the details because he's more travel-organized than I am, so I get to sit back and SQUEEEEEE about you and me hanging out soon! :D

    • I saw your FB post about that — Dairy Queen, right? What did you get? Their Oreo blizzards are my favorite. You starting Orchid’s edits definitely makes me smile. I’m looking forward to hearing how the process goes (and on that note, I’m sorry for the delayed response to your email – I’ve been having a lot of trouble focusing on anything this week as a result of what’s been going on, but I promise I’m not ignoring you).

      My favorite part of your post? Seeing you soon! I remember when Kyle first mentioned it, it seemed so far away, but now August is right around the corner. I cannot wait to spend a day with you two. He said you were tossing around the possibility of a day in Ocean City? Is that still the plan?

      Much <3 back — thank you for always being there and for all the support.

      • I got a Resse’s peanut butter cup blizzard, and it was like heaven! :] oh, and no rush on emailing me back, honestly…I know how hard it can be to focus on anything when your mind is preoccupied like I’m sure yours is. I know you’re not ignoring me, don’t worry!

        And yes, we’d still love to do Ocean City for a day!!! I haven’t been there since my senior year of high school and miss it so much! We’re going to have so much fun! :]

        • I’m so looking forward to it – and hey, there’s an Atlantic Books bookstore on the boardwalk, so we’ll be able to go with our plan of finding our spots on the shelves and taking pictures ;-)

  4. I am so sorry that you are going through a hard time right now. I know how hard family issues can be as I am going through many myself. My best advice is to find something that will take your mind off of it. A way that you can release stress and something that makes you happy. Keep your chin up. Just remember, “this too shall pass.” :)

    • That is exactly what I’m trying to do. There are times when it’s virtually impossible, but I’m doing my best to focus on other, happier things. Writing is a huge saving grace for me right now, since it gives me the opportunity to escape into my characters’ world instead. It’s pretty much the only thing making me happy these days, so that’s what I’m concentrating on as much as possible. Your advice is so, so good – until the storm cloud lifts (because I’m staying positive and praying that we get a medical miracle), I am trying to keep my chin up and look toward the sun.

      Thanks for all the kind thoughts. I hope your situation improves soon, too!

Leave a Reply

