Lessons Learned.


“God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good
And when I pray, it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway, I do it anyway.
This world’s gone crazy and it’s hard to believe
That tomorrow will be better than today
Believe it anyway.”
~Lauren Alaina, singing Martina McBride’s “Anyway”

This song? It’s been on repeat so frequently lately that I’ve pretty much memorized every lyric, note, and instrumental change. I’ve written a lot on here about the power music has to speak to us, and Lauren’s version of this beautiful song has done that in spades for me this past week. It has, unfortunately, followed the path of the one before, with every day a struggle of its own kind. I wish with all my heart that I could be writing about an answered prayer and a granted miracle right now, but since that’s still not possible (and since I feel bad about going so long without updating), I thought I’d do a quick post on what this terrible ordeal reminds me of every day. They’re lessons I’m so grateful for already having learned and put into practice.

~Love fully and unequivocally, because no one knows what tomorrow might bring.
~Reach as high and go as far as you can … and then take another step anyway.
~Look forward to the big things, but treasure the small ones – sometimes the ordinary moments are the most extraordinary of all.
~Memories are gifts woven through our minds and wrapped around our souls.
~Life happens, and that’s not always good, but nothing can take away the people we cherish if we refuse to let it.
~Play one more game, sing one more song, tell one more story, share one more dream.
~Follow your passion, and let it bring you joy even when nothing else does.
~Be thankful for everything, and, most importantly, for everyone.
~Live life so you have no regrets.
~Tell people you love them, and tell them often.
~And, like Lauren sings so hopefully, when it’s hard to believe that tomorrow will be better than today … believe it anyway.

Thank you all so very much for your sweet words, good thoughts, prayers, and the cheer-me-ups you left in response to my last post. It has been an incredibly difficult time for my family, but your kindness has been such a comfort. Please know how appreciative I am and how blessed I consider myself to have you all as friends. And, if you don’t mind, Gram can still use any and all prayers you have to offer. She has been there for me unconditionally, as my grandmom and my dear friend, and I will never stop being there for her. Ever. I’ll never stop praying that she pulls through and gets her miracle, because nobody deserves it more. The odds may tell me not to believe, but I don’t care. I’m going to believe it anyway.

12 thoughts on “Lessons Learned.

  1. I adore that song. <3 I saw a little clip the other day of Lauren and Martina singing a duet of it, so cute! I think it was at CMA music fest, but I'm not positive.

    And as always, sending love and good thoughts! <3

    • As always, thank you so much <3

      I'm so glad you mentioned that about the CMA Fest clip, because I remember seeing a link to their duet on Facebook and thinking that I had to go back and watch when I was finished my writing for the day. I think that was about a week ago, and it totally slipped my mind until you said that. Off to find it!

  2. It’s so hard, and nothing anyone says can make it better or lessen the pain, just know that you’re in so many people’s thoughts and we all wish the best for you and your loved ones. This blog is so enlightening and oh-so-true. Hold on to the good.

    • You are so sweet, and I cannot thank you enough for all your kind, comforting, and oh-so-wise words. There are times when the pain’s positively brutal, but when it gets to be too much, I make sure to think of all the special people who have been so supportive. That brings true comfort.

      Doing my best to hold on to the good, and that includes amazing friends like you <3

  3. I’ve never heard that song before. I love the lyrics. So I am definitely going to try to listen to the song. Stay strong, Shari! I know it may not seem like it now, but things WILL get better. I tell myself that all the time. Your gram is definitely in my thoughts! If you need someone to talk to anytime, I’m here! :)

    • It’s SUCH a beautiful song. I first heard it when Martina performed on an American Idol results show a few years ago and instantly fell in love with the lyrics. They are so inspiring and hope-filled, and there’s something about Lauren Alaina’s version that speaks to me.

      Thank you so very much for all the kind words and good thoughts for my grandmom. They’re deeply appreciated. I’m doing my best to stay strong and believe that things will get better – that belief is half the battle sometimes, I think.

      Thanks again <3

  4. This is such a beautiful and heartbreaking post, and it’s such a good reminder for all of us to love and believe with our whole hearts. My favorite, though, was the last line. It gave me chills.

    I’m still praying for your gram. She sounds like such a wonderful person, and she deserves a miracle.

    • This post was really tough to write, especially those last few lines. It’s like … my head comprehends what the doctors say, but my heart just is not there yet. It wants to believe, and I’m going to let it. I’m also forcing myself to keep those lessons in mind – it (sort of) helps to focus on those instead of all the heartache.

      Thank you so much not only for the kind words and good thoughts for Gram, but also for being so unconditionally supportive throughout all of this. You have helped more than you know <3

Leave a Reply

