Where Dreams Are Made.


“In New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made, oh
There’s nothing you can’t do, now you’re in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you, let’s hear it for New York
New York, New York.”
~Jay-Z and Alicia Keys, “Empire State of Mind”

Life continues to be difficult, draining, and nightmarish, but yesterday was a much needed distraction from that, and I’m excited to finally have something cheerful to write about on here. It was my sister’s twenty-third birthday, and in lieu of a family celebration like normal – just too difficult this year – she decided that she wanted to spend the day in New York. One of my favorite things about The Big Apple is that it’s like its own world, a snow globe of inspiration and energy, so I was more than happy to go with her and spend the day ensconced in Manhattan’s magic. There really is no other place like it.

Times Square

After the most bizarre coincidence ever (finding myself face-to-face with my fifth and sixth grade teacher the second I stepped off the train at Penn Station – we both did SUCH a double take!), we headed to Bryant Park to take in its sights and sounds on what was easily the most beautiful weather day I’ve ever had in NYC. The sky was the color of robin’s egg blue, and the sunbeams bounced off the buildings with such intensity that it was nearly blinding. Bea-u-tiful. So was Bryant Park, although it was much smaller than I imagined. Carousels are always fun, though, and we got a good laugh out of this sign. The birds, they are a-following me!

Carousel

Birds!

Next up was Mr. Softee (best. soft serve. ever.) and Rockefeller Plaza, probably my very favorite place in the entire city. There’s something really special about it – hustle and bustle mixed with serenity, this atmosphere that comes alive with all the colors in the flags. Simon & Schuster being a five minute walk away? Added bonus! It doesn’t matter how many times I see different publishing companies in New York, it always, always, always engulfs me in a starburst of inspiration and excitement. And, just when I think it’s impossible for me to feel even more passionate about writing than I already do, it reminds me that lines cross over into the possible all the time. Being in such a publishing mecca only makes me fall in love with the industry even more. It has my heart, and it’ll never let go. That’s what my dreams are made of so completely.

Rockefeller Fountains

Rockefeller Flags

Simon & Schuster

Then there’s Times Square – so easy to see why it’s called the Crossroads of the World – and Broadway. How can you not fall in love with their magic? We’d been hoping to see Anything Goes, but tickets were sold out, so we decided on Memphis instead. I didn’t know much about the show beforehand, but I enjoyed it and so did Marissa. The dancing was fun, the singing was stellar, and the rhythm of the beat was so infectious that you couldn’t help tapping along. Such fun, as was running to the Gershwin to buy a second Wicked shirt and going to dinner at our favorite Olive Garden, the one overlooking the center of Times Square. How can you beat that?

Memphis 1

Getting away for the day was like medicine for the soul, and even though everything going on at home was never far from our thoughts, we still had a lovely day. Marissa really enjoyed her birthday, I really enjoyed spending it with her, and we both really enjoyed one of the world’s most spectacular cities. I say this frequently, but it’s true: that place sparkles with light and life. The air is alive with possibility and potential, and it grips you in its embrace so completely. Like the shirts say, I Heart NYC.

How about you? Have you ever been to the City That Never Sleeps? What’s your favorite part?

11 thoughts on “Where Dreams Are Made.

  1. I totally have that S&S pic! <3 I really want to go inside one day (hopefully with a purpose other than sneaking in)!!! I'm glad you and your sister had such a good time and that the weather was perfect. Navigating the NY sidewalks in the pouring rain is definitely a challenge, trying not to get stabbed with an umbrella. Your pictures are gorgeous! :]

    • I KNEW I remembered that from your pictures last summer! When I was there in November, I took a pic in the front of the building, but I couldn’t resist this one around the side, too. I’m with you – I’d give anything to go inside and take a tour. If only they offered that! Oh goodness, and agreed about navigating the NYC crowds in the rain. Talk about a sea of umbrellas! We were lucky to have such beautiful weather!

      Thanks so much!

  2. I’ll be in NYC this week for work — too bad our schedules don’t overlap. Definitely need to arrange something for Philly in August, though!

    • We always seem to miss each other! I think our schedules came really close to overlapping at some point last year, too. August is a definite, though. I’m so looking forward to it. You must be busy getting everything ready for your NY journey, so I’ll wait until you get home and then shoot you an email to discuss plans :-)

  3. Happy Birthday to your sister! What a special trip! I’ve heard that Memphis is good! I totally want to see Anything Goes! I love that Olive Garden in Times Square! It definitely makes for amazing views, I have to agree with you! :)

    I think it’s great that you were able to separate yourself from the hard times right now and just enjoy yourself with your sister. Those make for the most special moments. Stay strong girl! :)

    • Memphis was definitely good – not my favorite show (nothing can ever beat Wicked!), but the storyline was interesting, the music was great, and the cast was so talented. I’d absolutely recommend it. That OG is fantastic, too. The atmosphere is so filled with energy, and even though I know this sounds totally strange, the food there always seems extra delicious.

      I think we both really, really needed that day away. It’s just so draining and difficult to deal with the sadness all the time, and it was good to distance ourselves from it (well, as best we could, anyway) and try to find some joy in life. Thanks again for all your kind words and support. It means so much!!

  4. Oh, this sounds like so much fun! I’m glad you had such a good day; you totally deserve it. Your writing is so vibrant and enthusiastic, too. Kind of hard NOT to get swept up in the magic of your trip. :-)

    • Thank you so much on all counts!! It really was a very nice day — such a welcomed getaway from reality. NYC is definitely one of my favorite places, and I love how no matter how many times you go, there’s always something different to explore. It makes for a fun trip every time!

  5. Sweet Shari,
    This post made my heart smile! I may not comment all the time (my life is so very busy these days, no excuse, but just fact I guess!), but I read all of your posts and have been heavy hearted for you. Your family has been in my thoughts and prayers. But to read this – My heart! :) And not only am I so glad your sister had a wonderful birthday (aren’t sisters the BEST?) and you two had a great little getaway – your writing is absolutely phenomenal. Every word of this blog entry captivated me. I got chills reading it.

    I, too, love New York City. It has been entirely too long since I visited that beautiful city that never sleeps. I dream daily of getting on a one way train, buying a loft apartment in Manhattan and writing for the rest of my life. If only the cost of living was not so ridiculous in that city so full of magic and inspiration!

    I continue to think of and pray for you all. Please let me know if I can do anything for you! Keep writing and keep smiling. You inspire me!

    <3

Leave a Reply

