Tuesday’s Tunes.


“Every change life has thrown me
I’m thankful for every break in my heart
I’m grateful for every scar
Some pages turned
Some bridges burned
But there were lessons learned.”
~Kristin Chenoweth, “Lessons Learned”

I’ve talked so much on here about how interconnected writing and music are – how the heartbeat of a song parallels the threads woven into a story – and in the midst of my querying today, as a lyric from Kristin Chenoweth’s new album ran through my mind on constant repeat, I thought … hey, why not take it a step further? Why not make it a regular feature on the blog? I’m always looking for new artists, albums, and songs to listen to, and I figured this would be a fun way to share some of our favorites.

So … what’s currently on repeat on my iPod?

“Lessons Learned” – Kristin Chenoweth: well, actually, her entire album is on repeat, but this is one of my favorites of all the songs. The lyrics are inspiring in a calm, sincere, hopeful way, a way that reminds us that sometimes strength doesn’t have to be bold. It can be quiet, wrapping itself around us in a cocoon of faith. Because, like Carrie Underwood originally sang and like Kristin does in her version … even when pages are turned and bridges are burned, there are always lessons learned.

“Mr. Know It All” – Kelly Clarkson: at the risk of sounding like a broken record, I CANNOT WAIT for Kelly’s new album to come out next month. Two and a half years without new KC music = two and a half years too long. Since I already devoted an entire post to this fabulous lead single, I’ll just say that it’s full of spunk and vibrancy. Because that’s who Kelly is. She’s willing to look those naysayers in the face and remind them that, no, they don’t know a thing about her. And, maybe even more important, she has the courage to prove them wrong. Just like she breaks down a wall in this video, she encourages us to do the same in our own lives.

“There Comes A Time” – Graham Colton: the first time I listened to Graham’s most recent album, this song stood out immediately. It resounded. Its chords lingered. We all have a past, some more complicated and complex than others, and we all look for a balance between honoring that past, learning from it and being inspired by it, and moving on and forward to the future. Sometimes it’s easy to get tangled up in the webs we’ve already woven; sometimes those webs ensnare us in place. But sometimes there comes a time when we really do realize our lives have just begun and that there are so many dreams and experiences waiting for us to discover them.

Okay, your turn! What tunes are you listening to on this Tuesday?

9 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes.

  1. I love listening to the Pandora singer-songwriter station at work and there have been so many good songs lately, from lots of Ray LaMontagne (total crush!) to an acoustic piano song from Taio Cruz.

  2. Oh, cool! Thanks for the recommendations. I’m always looking for new music. I’ll need to hunt down my headphones (since Sunshine is napping and I don’t want to wake her up) and listen to them.

  3. Love this! I am currently obsessed with Lady Antebellum’s new album, especially the song “Heart of the World”. It gives me chills every time. I also listen to Adele on repeat all the days. Her voice moves me. And ironically enough, I also listen to Beyonce’s “I Was Here” every day and you posted about Kristen’s “I Was Here” on your previous blog :)

    • Ooh, I love the title of that Lady Antebellum song! Even without hearing the lyrics or melody, it just seems very inspiring. Adele, too. There’s something almost motivational about her voice, isn’t there?

      Too funny about the same name song for Beyonce and Kristin! I love when that happens – it’s cool to see how different people interpret the same words :-)

      Thanks for sharing your favorites!

  4. Pingback: Looking Back & Looking Forward. « Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

