Tuesday’s Tunes.


“You can chase a dream
That seems so out of reach
And you know it might not ever come your way
Dream it anyway.”
~Martina McBride & Lauren Alaina, “Anyway”

Time for another installment of Tuesday’s Tunes! This week, I am all about songs that inspire and encourage. It’s been a tough few days – for several reasons, all of which are beyond my control – so I’ve been gravitating toward music that reminds us all that things can, and do, get better. And you know what? They make a difference. They help. They renew hope. That’s the beauty of music. Much like writing, it leaves an imprint one note (or word!) at a time.

My favorite songs this week:

“Anyway” – Martina McBride and Lauren Alaina: I loved this song from the first time I heard it, but when Lauren performed it on American Idol last season, it was just … very special. The words, the melody, the emotion, the inspiration, all of it combined to create one of those songs that speaks to every listener in different ways. I cannot begin to count the number of times I listened to Lauren’s version this summer. It brought me comfort and gave me hope. Because even when it’s hard to believe that tomorrow will be better than today, we should believe it anyway. Even when our dreams seem out of reach, we should dream them anyway.

“Faith” – Jordin Sparks: I’ve mentioned this song so many times on here, posted its lyrics and reflected on how much they mean. We all go through rough times. We all have periods – days, weeks, months – when the darkness overshadows the sun. And during those times, it can be so tough to believe that the rays of light are still there. Jordin’s beautiful song reminds us to keep the faith. It reminds us that everything happens for a reason – and, even when we wish so much to break through the darkness, we can draw hope from that, too. Because, like she says, when the sky is darkest, you can see the stars. Who knows what’s twinkling in their luster?

“On Your Own” – Green River Ordinance: I had to include this song today, since I’m unexpectedly seeing the band in concert tonight. Admittedly, I’m not too familiar with most of their music, but I’m looking forward to hearing more. There’s something almost soothing about their tone – perhaps that’s why this song was used at the end of each So You Think You Can Dance episode a few years back – and it’ll be fun to see how their live performances compare.

How about you? What are you listening to this week?

12 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes.

    • Doesn’t Grey’s have the BEST music sometimes? I’ve found so many fantastic songs because of it. I don’t remember Katie’s off the top of my head, but I’m off to look it up right now :)

  1. I just love the lyrics for “Anyway!” Thanks for reminding me of that song. :-)

    This week? I’m listening to whatever’s on the radio or comes up on my iPod. I’m not super picky about it. Though, if you do want specifics, I’ve been listening to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire again. It’s so fun! Since I’ve already heard it once before, this time I’m listening more for how she puts the story together – plot, characterization, word choice, etc.

    • They’re just beautiful, aren’t they? So inspiring and such an important reminder for all of us.

      Would you believe I’ve never read any of the HP books? My sister adores them – okay, pretty much everybody I know adores them – but they’re just not my cup of tea. I’d imagine they must be cool to listen to as audio books, though, what with all the action and fast-paced scenes. Do things like plotting and characterization come across more for you when you’re listening, as opposed to reading?

  2. So funny, I was listening to “Anyway” today too. We are kindred spirits. I have been in desperate need of reminders that even though sometimes life isn’t what we want it to be, God is still good and there is still so much to grateful and hopeful for!

    Hang in there, Shari. You are an inspiration to everyone who is blessed to know you and call you friend.

    • Kindred spirits, indeed :-)

      Thank you, as always, for the kind words and constant support. I truly consider myself so lucky to have you as a friend. You hang in, too, and find faith in knowing what a positive impact you make on so many lives. You absolutely have so much to be hopeful for!

  3. I’ve never heard any of these songs. I’m definitely going to take a listen. Lately, I’ve been really into Lady Antebellum. I love their new song, “Just a Kiss.” I am in love with Natalie’s voice. :)

    • Lady Antebellum is awesome! Every time I see them on an awards show or hear a song of theirs on the radio, their talent seriously seems to just come alive. I haven’t heard their new song yet, but will definitely be listening now. Thanks for the suggestion!

  4. I have a question Shari (hi!)..since your writer (so I’m trying to get into my writing aspirations after doing no writing forever and with a tough year past and to come i’ve been in a life crisis with jobs-money-etc…loong story…but needless to say I am in the position to finally purchase a computer ….writing/research/connecting, etc)

    I’m very financially strapped, but able to get something….
    looked at 3 of my viable options

    1) 10″ netbook…so tiny..i’ve never had…a nuisance?…comes with basic microsoft office built in…cheapest option available…good and bad…so tiny and obviously therefore slower too…i use majority of time at home for sure…but an option to transport it is an interesting idea since its light enough to do that…or drag into bed, etc…

    2) 15″ …looking at couple…obvioulsy more expensive than option above…but bigger and still viable financially…bigger, what i assume is better-stronger-etc…but i guess i’m used to that stuff…would have to add microsoft office in order to get updated version of word and have that (i.e..netbooks have microsoft word “basic” built in….the bigger laptops do not – but u can get it at more price at full capacity version)

    thought??? their all acers…i’m not computer savvy
    i’m hoping to buy asap…thanks!

    • Hi!

      Hmm … I’ve never used a netbook, so I can’t really speak to those. I have an HP with a screen size of 13.1, and I love it. The bigger laptops almost feel too bulky for me, and this is an ideal size for both transporting and keeping on my writing desk.

      Maybe go to the store and get a feel for your options in person? That was the biggest thing for me when I bought my laptop a few years ago, actually getting to experiment with the real deal.

      Good luck … and happy writing! :-)

      • Thanks….I guess a 13″ sounds perfect! But maybe a 10″ netbook would be too small…maybe a 15″ better than that…hmm…transporting would be hard, but oh well i guess…

        i guess you write via microsoft word/office…fully equipped?

        • If it helps, my sister has a 15” and has no problem taking it with her. It’s heavier, but definitely still transportable.

          Yep, I use Word – but the 2003 version, which I like SO much more than the newer one.

Leave a Reply

