Tuesday’s Tunes … sorta.


“Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper…”
~Demi Lovato, “Skyscraper”

Know what’s a really uncool and obnoxious way to celebrate being finished with edits? A sinus infection. No exaggeration, I started not feeling well only a couple hours after wrapping up revisions on Saturday. How’s that for lousy timing? Instead of spending my week off with good books, delicious mochas, festive holiday gifts, and great friends, I’ve been hanging out in bed with cough drops, a thermometer, and Advil. Sounds super fun, right? I am determined to feel better by tomorrow, though, because it’s Jingle Ball and I have been waiting to see KC perform again for such a long time. These stubborn sinuses will not rain on my parade. If that means postponing plans and extending my break by a few days to compensate, so be it. I’m such a workaholic that I could probably use the extra time off, anyway.

I had planned to showcase songs from several Jingle Ball artists today, but since I’m writing this while trying to ignore the sinus pressure in my head, I’m just gonna go with one instead. Since I’ve inundated y’all with Kelly songs in past weeks, I figured I’d go with something different, Demi Lovato’s Skyscraper. It’s a beautiful song with an important message, and even though I’m obviously most looking forward to seeing KC tomorrow, it’ll be cool to hear Demi and some of the other artists in person, too.

Have you ever been to a radio station’s compilation concert before, or do you stick to solo tours? And … anyone have suggestions for ways to clear up a sinus infection? Pleaseeeee?

6 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes … sorta.

  1. Oh, no! I’m so sorry to hear you’re sick. Part of me can’t help but wonder, though, if the timing isn’t as coincidental as it seems. In my first few years of teaching I got sick EVERY SINGLE TIME we had a break. Winter break arrived? Bam. Sick. Spring break? Sick. Summer? Sick, sick, sick. I think our bodies know when we’re too busy working to take a break, and as soon as we’re done with our projects they relax, too, and let in the sick. It’s the only way I can explain it!

    • I’ve heard so many teachers say that — and I remember it from college, too, how people would always get sick right after the semester ended. Crazy how our bodies can build up a protective bubble while we’re working, isn’t it?

  2. i LOVE this song. <3 I was really interested to hear what sort of route Demi would take after coming out of treatment, and I think this is perfect. The video is absolutely stunning, and I'm so glad she's doing well. :)

    Boo to your sinus infection, though. :( Get lots of sleep and try to relax!

    • Agreed! We got there too late on Wednesday to see her perform (such insane traffic because of the horrid weather), but we heard it as we were walking in and she sounded great. So glad she’s doing well.

      Thanks so much <3 It was a pretty miserable week, but I went to the doctor today and she gave me a prescription for cough medicine that is seriously a miracle worker. I've been coughing so violently that I've gotten no more than three hours of sleep per night the entire week … here's hoping this turns the tide and knocks out the sinusitis/bronchitis for good.

  3. Sinus infections suck big time! I hope you’re feeling better. I love that Demi Lovato song too. I hate to admit it, but I love all the former Disney stars crossing into music.

    • Thank you! I’ve felt pretty awful all week, but I went to the doctor today and am hoping things get better now. Hmm … I’m not sure that I’ve heard songs from any of the other Disney stars (well, other than Miley). Recommendations?

Leave a Reply

