Introducing … Goldie Mac!


“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”
~Apple Inc.

After more than four years and (almost) four novels written, yesterday marked a bittersweet milestone for my beloved HP laptop. Marge dealt with my furiously typing fingers for one last time before rightfully earning herself a long retirement. She’s officially free from my constantly-writing ways and I’m free from her battery that no longer works, her power cord that only stays plugged in when it’s wrapped around the screen, her Internet that only cooperates half the time, and her oh-so-lovely blue and black screens. Now … now I have a brand new MacBook to type away on, a new toy to explore. And boy, let me tell you – it was a J-O-Y to write my entire 2212 word scene this morning without having to worry even once about whether the computer would cooperate. I normally aim for somewhere between 1500 words per day, but this morning? I COULD NOT STOP. Yes, it was largely because of the scene itself, but I must admit, it was also quite fun to write my first scene on this computer. Here’s to you, Goldie Mac, and all the adventures that await us. SO EXCITED for the stories you’ll help me tell, the things you’ll help me learn, and the happiness you’ll help me bring.

MacBook 1

MacBook 2

MacBook 3

Do you name your computer, too? Please tell me I’m not the only one! And Mac users – any tips I should know about?

5 thoughts on “Introducing … Goldie Mac!

  1. Yay! It’s so beautiful, and I’m super excited for you! I LOVE that you name your computers, too. I never have, but it kind of makes me want to.

    Tips: set up the shortcuts (window hot zones, what happens when you tap the mousepad with a certain number of fingers, etc.) Also, be sure to set up the dictionary/thesaurus in the gadgets. SO helpful! And, finally, you can set up keyboard shortcuts in Word. Did you know that? Makes common tasks like adding comments in track changes so much easier. I set one up for full screen, for example.

    • It’s funny, because I don’t name anything else … but I use the computer so frequently, it almost feels like part of the family ;-)

      Oohh, I must learn how to set up the trackpad shortcuts … because as it is, I keep accidentally tapping it and changing the screen without meaning to at all! I somehow managed to scroll back four different Internet pages this morning … still have no idea how, though LOL. It gave me a good laugh to go from research on adoption home studies to Words with Friends on FB. Oops!

  2. YAY! I’m so glad that you got a mac! You are going to love it so much! I love my mac. You might need to learn how to do some keyboard shortcuts. It makes doing different tasks so much easier. :) Welcome to the world of mac!

    • Thank you! I am LOVING the Mac world so far. What a joy to be able to use a computer without worrying about it turning off in the middle of writing … and it moves so much faster than my old HP! I’m still working on learning all the differences with the keyboard (I have gone to hit the control button at least a dozen times already before realizing it’s the command button on a Mac) … but I’m getting better with it! :)

Leave a Reply

