Looking Up.


“The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.”
~Jacques Cousteau

Greetings from the sand, surf, and sunshine of Avalon, New Jersey! Okay, that last part technically isn’t true at the moment – the shore has been shrouded in clouds for most of the day and rain appears to be on the way for this evening – but still, I always say it’s better to be here in the wet weather than home in the dry variety. My cold has insisted on hanging around for awhile and limiting my ability to swallow/sleep/breathe, but even so, it’s been a wonderful vacation so far. I’m squeezing in editing time out on the balcony every morning and have been really excited the last couple days to see how far the manuscript’s come as it tightens up. So … when Tuere tagged me in this fun game, I was instantly excited about participating.

Rules: search your work-in-progress for the first usage of the word “look,” paste the surrounding paragraph into your blog, and tag your fellow writer friends. Here’s an excerpt from the novel I’m currently editing, Mine to Love.

Ellie’s voice is soft, filled with the kind of enthusiasm only a three-year-old can possess this early in the day, and her feet whisper across the carpet as she hurries into the room. Even with my eyes closed, I can see her standing next to me. Rosy cheeks, button nose, dark brown curls tousled from sleep … yes, even without looking, my heart paints a picture-perfect image of my daughter.

I’ll tag anyone and everyone who wants to take part. Write a post of your own and leave a link in the comments, please! Or, if you’d rather, share a random excerpt from your WIP (or multiple excerpts, if you’re like me, who started out posting a sentence per day on Facebook and now can’t get away with doing anything less than a paragraph). And while you’re doing so, please enjoy the crazy beautiful sunrise that I saw over the ocean yesterday morning. Apparently being too stuffed up/sneezy/cold-like to sleep was a good thing, because it treated me to these exquisitely breathtaking views.

Yep … pretty sure that beats my normal view while editing. Also, check out this plaque I bought in a local bookshop today. Could it be any more perfect?

Love, love, love: the plaque, the ocean, the shore, all of it. Can I just stay here forever? :)

10 thoughts on “Looking Up.

    • Thank you on both counts! :)

      Yesterday was the first day I actually felt (semi) normal again. Such horrible timing to get sick, but I’m just glad the antibiotic worked quickly enough for me to salvage a few days of vacation!

  1. Yay! I was hoping you’d post some pretty pictures. :-)

    Great paragraph, too. I can just feel her love for Ellie. So sweet and lovely.

    I responded, too, but on Tuere’s blog since she tagged me, too.

    • Thank you! That’s one of the first paragraphs in the book – it starts off with Ellie waking her up – and so I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed it. I’m always especially focused on the opening and how effective it is.

    • Aww, thank you so much! Your kind words seriously mean more than I can say. That’s exactly the vibe I was going for with the start of the book, painting a picture of how much Sofie adores Ellie :)

      Oh my gosh, and that sunrise was exquisite! It was truly magical!

  2. I loved your paragraph, Shari. Thanks for sharing it – I can’t wait to read the whole book one day. :) And those pictures are gorgeous! Loved the plaque, too. I want one.

    Hope you’re having a lovely holiday weekend!

    • Thank you on all counts! I just fell in love with that plaque. I already have so many hanging up, but I simply couldn’t resist adding this one to the collection.

      Hope you’re having a fantastic holiday weekend, too!

Leave a Reply

