Things I’ve learned this week:


“Learn everything you can, anytime you can, from anyone you can – there will always come a time when you will be grateful you did.”
~Sarah Caldwell

1. Spending countless hours working on a laptop can eventually cause your neck muscles to become inflamed. Dominant side (right, in my case) + unwittingly tilting your head at a certain angle while on the computer x many years = lopsided muscles (aka, one side is thicker than the other). My doctor recommended physical therapy for it, so fingers crossed that works. And who says writers don’t incur occupational hazards? ;-)

2. Yogurtland is amazing not only because they have white chocolate Ghirardelli chips as a topping, but also because they have the best flavor ever: Peppermint Hot Cocoa. If you have a Yogurtland anywhere near you, go try this fabulousness. You’ll be glad you did.

3. It is impossible to put eye drops in your own eyes – at least if you’re as squeamish about that kind of thing as I am. Thank goodness for people who offer to help.

4. Wrapping holiday gifts while listening to festive music never gets old. Ever. Cannot wait for the start of Hanukkah tomorrow night and for all the warmth, light, and joy it sends twinkling through the air.

5. Knowing that you’re going to exceed a goal is an incredible feeling. When I first began editing Mine to Love, I hoped to get the manuscript under 110,000 words. With six and a half chapters left to revise, I’m only a few hundred words away. For the first time ever, I’m going to have a book that’s shorter than the goal. This excites me more than it probably should.

How about you? What’s one thing you’ve learned this week?

11 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned this week:

  1. I probably should worry about my neck and shoulder muscles… but my wrists bother me more, so those are what I tend to baby. :P

    Congrats on your editing!

    One thing I’ve learned this week? Hm… Not to rush a fearful dog. It takes time, but trust can be built, and it’s better to do it that way than chase or grab the pup.

    • I’ve been really lucky with my wrists (knock on wood!), but know they’re problematic for a lot of people. It’s good that you baby them, though. We have to take care of ourselves, right?

      Such a good lesson, and one I’ll keep in mind for the day I have a dog!

  2. Ha! My dad gives me no end of trouble about the fact that I can’t put eye drops in my own eyes (though I’m getting better at it). I agree, though; when you do it yourself, you know exactly when you’re going to squeeze that tube and the drop will go in, and it’s almost impossible not to blink. The only thing that helps me is to pull my lower lid down and out, to make a pouch and keep it far enough away that I can’t blink enough at the last minute to block the drops. I then put the drops right in that pouch. I’m sure it’s horrible and will cause the most awful wrinkles someday, not to mention it’s not very pleasant to watch, but at least it works. Sort of. Good luck with it. I feel for you. Ugh.

    Happy Hanukkah!

    • Thank you!

      And … your method may not be too enjoyable, but you still have it ALL over me. I literally cannot even keep my eyes open when doing drops (which made for some really fun times at the eye doctor, before I switched to one who uses the Optomap). The only way I can deal with it is to close my eyes, put the drops in the inside corners, and then open my eyes and let the drops roll in. Oy!

  3. A few years ago, I spazzed out my deltoid muscle so bad that I couldn’t even lift a fork with my right hand – all because my desk was a little too high. Now I use a keyboard tray. Always.

    The best thing for me is wrapping presents with my kids – the ones they give to their siblings. Not thing better.

    • OUCH. It must have been incredibly painful. So glad it healed and that you found a way to remedy the work situation.

      Aww, and how sweet! I can just imagine what a warm & fuzzy feeling that gives you as a mama! :)

    • Okay, I feel better knowing that I’m not the only one! There’s just something about it that makes me so squeamish!

      Thank you (and thank you for stopping by!)! :)

  4. I’m a firm believer that humans aren’t meant to sit cramped at a computer for 8 hours a day! But I do…haha. I am actually an eye drop PRO. I love putting them in other people’s eyes too. Is that sick? I wear contacts, so I’m used to touching my eyeball and plopping things into it. If you ever need a hand, I’m your girl!

      • Gahhh I wish I had any. I just plunk ’em in. I guess the quicker you do it, the better! Put a little pressure on the bottle so it squeeze right out. I don’t like when it’s hovering above my eye and I’m waiting for it to drip like a leaky faucet :)

Leave a Reply

