Time Machine.


“We all have our time machines. Some take us back, they’re called memories. Some take us forward, they’re called dreams.”
~Jeremy Irons

So … I was all set to begin this post by writing something like “how in the world is it December 31st already?” or “the cliche is true: time really does fly, really does whiz by in the blink of an eye.” And that is true. The days speed by too quickly, leaving us to capture freeze-frames with our minds, with our moments, with our memories. But it’s also true that this year has felt like a long one. Not in a bad way. In a good way. When I travel backward to January, when I close my eyes and the movie reel of 2012 plays before my eyes, there are so many scenes to fill that screen. I may not have accomplished all I set out to, but even so, this year was overflowing with experiences I’ll always cherish.

There were concerts that filled my soul with song and my heart with happiness. Kristin Chenoweth, Carrie Underwood, Rachel Platten, Graham Colton, American Idol, Clay Aiken, and of course Kelly Clarkson … some of my favorite moments of 2012 are singing along to their inspiring music.

Kelly Clarkson

Clay

There were meet and greets with some of the fabulous cast members of General Hospital, who never fail to make an impact through their acting prowess, genuine compassion, and dedication to their fans.

Scott and Becky

Take 1!

There were good books, good movies, and good music. There were vacations at the shore, one in particular that taught me a much-needed lesson. And there was a signing with one of my favorite authors, who continues to change the world, one story at a time.

Emily

There was writing Mine to Love and deleting 50,000+ words during edits, a task that sometimes seemed impossible but always filled me with inspiration. There were visits to NYC with family and friends. There were scary scenes physically and bittersweet experiences emotionally. Celebrating my cousin’s Bat Mitzvah this November was beautiful, and lovely, and special … but without Gram, there was a heart-shaped hole. There will always be a hole without her, and though it’s still been difficult this year, we are, at least, learning to look back on the memories with smiles instead of tears. My writing, too, has helped me heal. Words are what I do. They’re who I am. And still, there will never be enough to adequately thank Sofie, Brandon, and Ellie for showing me how to move beyond the grief. To parlay the hurt into hope. It’s just one of many ways that they’ve left a handprint on my heart.

So, too, have the amazing people in my life. We should all be so lucky as to have family who are like friends and friends who are like family. That includes all of you. Thank you, thank you, thank you not only for reading my random ramblings, but for all the support, community, encouragement, and friendship you’ve brought into my life. I am endlessly grateful to know y’all and call you my friends.

KCgroup

Rachelgroup

Katie

Kaitlin

Steph

MK

Sara

I’ve written before that I’m not normally about broad, overarching resolutions. I’d rather make every day the best it can be, live every day to its fullest potential. But even so, I’m excited to set these goals for 2013:

~Query literary agents for Mine to Love, working as hard as possible to find someone who connects with the characters like I do, who believes in their journey like I do, who wants to share their story with the world like I do. Nothing would make me happier. This book pushed me further, made me stronger, than any ever has, and I am so filled with hope for what comes next.

~Take the ideas for a new manuscript that are swirling frenziedly through my mind and weave them into a book. The premise for this one has been poking around my thoughts for over a year now and I absolutely cannot wait to see where it goes in the months ahead. I suspect it’ll feel strange at first, writing about different characters after spending so long with Sofie and Company, but I am excited and exhilarated to see where they take me and how they help me grow further.

~Read 26 books (Last year’s plan of 52? It went pretty well for awhile, until I spent so much time working on the computer each day that my eyes just about staged a protest when I tried to focus them on book-print afterwards.).

~Travel to Nantucket (I came this close to making that happen in 2012 and am now even more determined to get there) and perhaps back down South, to the cities I love so much. Atlanta’s #1 on that list.

~And, as I wrote last year: live life. Embrace every moment, find joy in something each day, even if something small, and make my own luck instead of waiting for it to find me.

My hope for us all is that 2013 will be a year where dreams are realized. Where our time machines take us to beautiful places. Where passions are discovered, journeys are taken, interests are sparked, and goals are surpassed. Where love and light fill each hour of each day. Where ordinary moments become extraordinary. Where we find blessings we’d never imagined. Where every memory is a gift. And, most importantly, where good health prevails, because as my family always says, if the New Year is healthy, it’ll be happy.

Here’s to a future that shimmers with promise. Happy, Healthy New Year, everyone. Much love.

12 thoughts on “Time Machine.

    • I know — it was definitely a year of being starstruck! ;-)

      Thanks so much, and the best of luck to you, as well. Here’s hoping for a 2013 filled with writing!

  1. Yay for such a fulfilling 2012! I know 2013 is going to be even more productive. Great idea to do a post like this on New Year’s Eve, too, both so you can look back at what happened this year, and so you can have a record for next year. Wonder what next year’s NYE blog post will look like? I hope it says you’ve accomplished all of the above — and more — and had lots of fun while doing it!

    Happy 2013 (almost)!

    • These NYE posts always take me forever to write, but they’re still some of my favorites to do. Like you said, it’s fun to look back on the old year and look ahead to the new one. Fingers crossed for a 2013 where we can all accomplish our goals!

      Happy New Year, Caryn! :)

  2. Aw, what a lovely, fun retrospective.

    You know what’s funny? For 2 or 3 years now, I’ve easily met the goal of reading 50 books in a year. But for 2013, my goal is to read LESS. Not a lot less — 40 books — but enough to make sure I’m not spending all my time reading instead of writing. Also to make sure I’m not reading books out of obligation, but rather out of love (or at least desire).

    As for other goals… well, honestly, I’m still not quite sure what they are yet, or how to put them into words. Perhaps I’ll figure it out and post about it. (Perhaps not, lol.)

    Happy New Year! Here’s to a 2013 filled with light and love. :)

    • Oh boy, I can totally see myself running into that same problem. There are so many awesome books … and they’re such compelling stories … and you simply can’t put them down … it goes on and on. I’ve always been a morning writer, and I think that helps. I’m sitting at my desk within an hour of waking up and I don’t move (well, other than to stretch) until I’m finished for the day. I don’t let myself dive into a book until afterwards. Though it’s so tempting sometimes…

      Happy New Year to you, too!

  3. Happy 2013 Shari! :) It’s great to see how filled with good memories and lessons it’s been for you. Good luck with the querying and new manuscript in the New Year.

  4. Shari, I am just now catching up on your recent blog posts – life is such a whirlwind, I never have free moments anymore!

    I smiled so much reading this and then when I saw the picture of you and I, my smile burst! I am thankful to have been able to finally meet last year! I know 2013 will be amazing for you – you are one of the most passionate, inspiring and loving people I know, and I believe wholeheartedly that those things all will carry you to your dreams being fulfilled – a million fold! :)

    • Of course I had to include our picture … our NYC meet-up was one of my favorite days all year! It was wonderful to finally spend time together in person.

      As always, thank you for the kind words. You are too sweet and I’m infinitely glad to have you as such a great friend. Wishing you a 2013 filled with all your dreams come true! <3

Leave a Reply

