All in the Numbers.


“Originality exists in every individual because each of us differs from the others. We are all primary numbers divisible only by ourselves.”
~Jean Guitton

10,458: the number of words currently in my WIP, which becomes more of a joy to write with every single day. I’m already discovering so many twists and turns to my characters’ personalities, already following their lead as they dictate where the story will spin. It’s an inspiring road to travel and an exciting journey to take.

24: the number of days until I’m in Washington DC for this year’s Cherry Blossom Festival. I’ve wanted to go for so long and can’t wait to see those beautiful umbrellas of pink petals in person. Fingers crossed that the trees will all be in bloom.

3: the number of times I’ve now had the chance to talk with General Hospital and Dancing with the Stars superstar Kelly Monaco. Her fan event on Sunday was one of my favorites I’ve ever attended, and I was, once again, totally impressed by her genuinely kind and gracious nature. From telling me that my eyes are the bluest she’s ever seen, to reminiscing about the 2005 Philadelphia Thanksgiving Day parade and saying how sweet it was that I remembered our visit there, to sitting and chatting with me – and everyone else – as though we were friends, she was nothing but a complete class act.

DSC02941 - Version 2

54: the number of choice on today’s weather forecast. Perhaps spring is around the corner?

570: the number of words I wrote in twenty minutes this morning. Wednesday are my query days, my days to focus solely on sending MINE TO LOVE out to agents, but I woke up with a scene in my head and simply had to get it down before doing anything else. There is something so special about that flurry of furious typing, that whirlwind where your fingers can’t type quickly enough to keep up with your thoughts, and it completely made my day, all before 8:00AM. Writer’s high? For real, it’s the best ever.

What numbers are defining your day?

12 thoughts on “All in the Numbers.

    • Oh, I am TOTALLY with you on adding eight (or more!) hours to each day! Who do we talk to about making that happen? ;-)

      Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend!

  1. “There is something so special about that flurry of furious typing, that whirlwind where your fingers can’t type quickly enough to keep up with your thoughts…”

    TRUTH. (If only I got that feeling more often lately…)

    Hm. 59 photos from my trip to Paris. (Secret # of pages) left to revise before I can query. 2 years since I quit my job. 3 years until I turn 30.

    • I’m with you … wouldn’t it be awesome if we could have that feeling whenever we sit down at our computers? Though, I suppose it’s more special when it only happens every now and then?

      You must have incredible self-restraint when it comes to taking pictures. I’d have quadrupled that number on a trip to Paris!

  2. Great idea for a post! I love all the numbers, and list posts are always fun. Oh, and congratulations on your new scene from Wednesday! Doesn’t it just make your whole day wonderful when you end up with a great new scene, all before you’ve even gotten out of bed? Starts the whole day off right.

    • It sure does! I was super excited, too, because it carried over into Thursday and Friday. I wasn’t writing as quickly, but I’m really, really happy with how the chapter turned out. I’m having such a blast with this book! :)

  3. These are some pretty positive looking numbers. I LOVE when my fingers can’t type fast enough for what I want to write. I get that a lot… My number at the moment is 4,000 but it’s not a good thing. My good number for today is approximately 27,500 :) Keep up the awesome work, Shari :D

Leave a Reply

