Tuesday’s Tunes: in my characters’ eyes.


“All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of who I am
So many stories of where I’ve been
And how I got to where I am.”
~Sara Ramirez, “The Story”

Those of you who follow me on twitter may have seen a giddy post last week about inadvertently stumbling upon the most perfect song for one of my characters. I’m not kidding … it’s like the lyrics were written specifically for Charlotte. I was taking a walk when the song came up on my iPod, and I literally just stopped there, right in the middle of the sidewalk, to listen. It was an awesome few minutes. As the melody swirled in my ears, I could imagine different scenes from Charlotte’s life playing out with each verse, each chorus, each note. Hands down, it’s in my Top Ten of coolest moments I’ve ever experienced as a writer. And so, of course, I have to share that song with you:

And for the other of my new main characters, Remi:

I don’t listen to music while I write – silence is golden when it comes to getting into my characters’ minds – but I often play a song for inspiration before or after. You better believe that these two will be heading up the playlist for my WIP. Love, love, love.

11 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes: in my characters’ eyes.

    • YES! I’ve always loved that song, but it’s taken on an entirely different meaning now. It will definitely head up the playlist for this book!

    • Oh my gosh, I am SO JEALOUS that you got to see her perform in person. She has such an incredible voice just in her recordings … it must’ve given you goosebumps to hear it live! Also: I like the way you think! ;-)

      • She was fantastic, then she popped up on Grey’s and I was super excited for that! I never did see the musical episode (I must say, I was a little peeved they did that) but I’ve heard some of her other stuff. She’s a great performer!

  1. I love when that happens! So fun. I know some authors do entire soundtracks for their books, searching for just the right song for each character and scene. I’ve never done that, but I’m starting to see the appeal.

    • It really is so fun — and now I can’t stop listening to the song and picturing scenes from the book as it plays. I have a song that defines each book I’ve written and they always end up taking on new meaning for me. Love that! :)

Leave a Reply

