Wordless(ish) Wednesday: finding inspiration everywhere.


“Your story matters. Tell it.”
~Unknown

Like Aly, I have been spending a lot of time lately organizing and de-cluttering. If I’m not sitting down at my desk to revise, chances are I’m cleaning or sorting or rearranging. There’s nothing like revamping a room to give you a fresh perspective – that’s what HGTV tells us and I must agree. Part of my recent redesign includes hanging up and displaying a plethora of inspirational plaques that I’ve bought over the past few years. Here’s a sampling:

DSC03689

DSC03696

DSC03698

DSC03700

DSC03703

DSC03714

DSC03701

As you can see, most of my wall hangings are centered around writing, the seashore, and the beauty of dreaming big. How about you? Anyone else a quote and plaque fanatic like I am?

12 thoughts on “Wordless(ish) Wednesday: finding inspiration everywhere.

  1. I love the “Write Your Own Destiny” one! It’s beautiful!!!! <3 I'd love to start collecting canvas art like that, ones with inspirational words on them especially. I see them all over Pinterest!

    • Oh my gosh, I got SO excited when I found that one in a bookshop down the shore last year. I had to buy it! Also … I have been trying really hard to avoid Pinterest, but I can feel myself getting pulled in … ;-)

  2. I am a TOTAL inspirational art prints/quote person, They really cheer up a room and I feel like having them sometimes triggers more creative thoughts. Also, I love how much of your stuff is ocean/beach-y. Must be perfect to draw inspiration from for editing SOT. :)

    • I absolutely agree — something about them lends itself to an additional spark of creativity. They just sort of buoy up the mind, you know? And YES! The ocean/beachy theme always puts a smile on my face, but especially so since I’ve been working on SOT. Makes me feel like I’m right there with Charlotte, Nolan, Remi, and Eli. :)

  3. Your writing space is LOVELY. I adore the soft blues and the ocean theme. It looks so calming and relaxing. I need to start collecting framed quotes because I love them so much!

    • Thank you! When I redid it a few years ago, I knew I wanted an ocean/beach theme. It’s my favorite place to be, so how better to decorate the space where I spend the most time? Framed quotes are such a fun thing to collect … you can’t help but smile when looking at them, you know?

    • Ha! You know you’re a writer when …. :)

      Oh my gosh, I LOVE that lamp. I found it in a boutique at the shore a few years ago – the summer before I redid the entire room in a beach theme – and couldn’t resist buying it. Makes me feel like I’m seaside!

  4. I love all this! Your room has such a nice, pretty, peaceful feel to it — much like the ocean. Warm and calming and serene. Will you come decorate my house next? Pretty please?

Leave a Reply

