What …


“Everybody’s reaching for something
Every day pulling and tugging
Always wanting a little more …”
~Melinda Doolittle, “Give”

What I’m listening to: Remember when I wrote about Melinda Doolittle’s fabulous and inspiring new song? Well, this past Tuesday she released an equally fabulous and inspiring EP. It’s called YOU’RE THE REASON and is full of wisdom-filled lyrics, beautiful melodies, and Melinda’s powerfully resonating voice. I love it so much and am learning something new from the tracks each time I listen.

What I’m watching: Anyone else a fan of Shark Tank on ABC? I find the premise absolutely fascinating and am always so intrigued by the products people create. There are so many reality shows out there, but this one is unique and – pardon the pun – inventive. And can we talk about Grey’s Anatomy for a minute? HUGE kudos to the amazing Sara Ramirez for last night’s Callie-centric episode. Talk about talented.

What I’m reading: Actually, this should probably be entitled “What I’m immersed in to the neglect of everything else.” Seriously. Allison Winn Scotch’s new novel, THE THEORY OF OPPOSITES, came out on Tuesday, and oh my gosh, you guys, it is excellent. I’m three-quarters of the way through and will write a full review when I’ve finished reading, but for now I’ll just say that it’s already made me laugh out loud, already made me nod my head in agreement, already made me think and reflect and feel.

What I’m writing: I moved on to character sketches for my new book this week and am truly having such a blast getting to know everyone. So far I’ve hung out (that sounds weird, huh, talking about characters like they’re real?) with Eden, her future best friend Serena, and her love interest Wilson. I’m growing more and more excited about them, about their stories, about the journey we’ll all go on together. There’s still some planning to do, but I can’t wait to start drafting in a couple weeks.

What I’m smiling about: A sweet new bundle of baby joy for a friend, a good report from my biennial cardiology appointment (for my heart murmur), a burst of (relative) warmth sandwiched in between the cold weather of late fall, and some wonderfully invigorating chats with some equally wonderful writing friends.

What are you listening to / watching / reading / writing / smiling about this week?

4 thoughts on “What …

  1. Re: Grey’s-
    I’m still not sure how I feelt about the episode overall (in large part because the jumping around in time was annoying to me, so it kind of clouds the issue) but I agree that Sara was excellent (as usual).

    Glad to hear you’re enjoy AWS’s latest, and that your heart murmur is not causing you trouble! Onto another new project already? Man, you are on fire! In the best possible way. :D

    • I agree about the time jumping – kinda pulled me out of the story at times – but I will say that Shonda is awesome at taking previous scenes and giving them an entirely new meaning. I was thinking of that scene between Callie & Arizona when the cheating came out – how Arizona told Callie that only one of them lost something – and definitely see it in a new light now that we know about the baby.

      Aww, and thanks! I tried to hold off for awhile to give myself a break, but I’m itching to get back to it. I also really, really need something as a distraction while querying so I’m not obsessing over my inbox! ;-)

Leave a Reply

