Pinteresting.


“A dream collage is pictures of your goals. It is like your future photo album.”
~Bo Bennett

Hello. My name is Shari, and I’m addicted to Pinterest.

Somehow I’ve managed to resist the pull of that wonderful, time-stealing vortex until recently, but last week I decided I really, really wanted to create boards for my books. I’ve always been a very visual person – when I write, the scenes kind of play out like movie reels in my head – and bringing the stories to life in another way sounded like such fun. Characters, settings, details and nuances that are woven into the fabric of their worlds … it is seriously such a blast to add them all. Does it serve a purpose? Maybe not. But maybe so. Just looking at the pictures deepens my connection with the characters. It takes the two-dimensional page and ups it a notch. It lets my imagination grow wings and fly free. I’ve found it to be especially helpful with my WIP. Each morning now, before I start writing for the day, I take a few minutes to look at the pictures, to close my eyes and see my characters living and breathing their Nashville love, and it does wonders to transport me from Pennsylvania to Tennessee and also to Portsmouth, Eden’s hometown. Yes, I am spending way more time on Pinterest than I should in the evenings. Yes, I am falling down that rabbit hole along with everyone else who’s a member of the site. But also, yes, it is such a joy to picture these worlds that, in ways, only live in my head. Some people might think it’s goofy. I think it’s fabulous.

Here are some snapshots into my characters’ lives:

Reflections of Me, Dear Ellie, and Mine to Love:

ROM/DE/MTL

Sands of Time:

SOT

Watercolors:

Watercolors

Fellow writers, anyone else create boards for your books? And who else is addicted to Pinterest?

13 thoughts on “Pinteresting.

  1. Ahhhh so excited your on Pinterest. And YES I love the idea of creating boards for characters/books. I’m squealing over your boards right now. :DDDD

    • Oh, I am so addicted. I can’t even tell you how many pictures of Nantucket I’ve looked at over the past week. It is really not helping my intense desire to visit there! I think my favorite part, though, is finding character look-a-likes. So fun!!

  2. Pinterest still hasn’t captured my interest enough for me to venture near that rabbit hole, though I’m definitely more of a dot-points person when it comes to writing. Your boards look great though, Shari! :)

  3. CONGRATULATIONS on becoming a Pinterest addict…and welcome to the club. I love it SO MUCH! I make a conscious effort not to log on during the semester for the most part. Although I’ve had excuses to look at it during work because we’re doing a lot of DIY decorations for one of our events and needed inspiration! :)

    • Oh man, I’d have been in such trouble if it was around when I was in school … as it is, I ban myself from it until all my writing is finished for the day. SO MUCH fun, though! I can see why you love it!

  4. Wow, you weren’t kidding. You really DO like to pin! I have one and have dabbled a skosh but never got that far into it. Not that I know I absolutely can. Pinning characters for a book I’ve thought of too. Maybe when I’m finished tinkering at it.

    • I know a lot of people use it to pin all sorts of things, but right now I’m having so much fun creating boards for my books that I can barely see beyond that. Let me know if you decide to give it a whirl! :)

Leave a Reply

