Twelve Days.


“Technology makes it possible for people to gain control over everything, except over technology.”
~John Tudor

Know what’s never a good sign? When you’re working on the computer and the screen suddenly goes blank. Know what’s even worse? When you try to reboot said computer and are met with wavy lines, shrill beeps, and, eventually a vast blue (or sometimes white … or sometimes black … or sometimes gray …) chasm of nothingness. And do you know what’s worse still? When you drop off that computer, that very lifeline of sorts for a writer, and the technician who’s supposed to fix it actually breaks it instead.

Awesome.

Welcome to the last twelve days. What was promised to be a one or two day repair turned into an almost two week saga. A misdiagnosis of the problem … an extra three days for the correct part to be ordered … a check-in phone call on my part during which it was explained that in the process of replacing the display, they broke the airport card … another six days for my computer to be shipped to Tennessee for their error to be fixed … minimal communication and apologies, except from one very kind tech representative … let’s just say I was not a happy camper.

As of yesterday, I FINALLY have Goldie again (please tell me I’m not the only one who gives computers a name!) and I seriously don’t think I’ve ever been so relieved to get back to work. I have a second round of revisions to make on WATERCOLORS, a song to write for it, and queries to send for SANDS OF TIME. I’m always excited to sit down at my writing desk after a break, but after one that was frustratingly extended by all this time? I. AM. JUBILANT.

I did my best to keep up with y’all via my iPod, but holy cow, did my eyes start hurting after awhile, so if I missed anything important – or even anything small – let me know! And does anyone else have any computer repair horror stories to share?!

9 thoughts on “Twelve Days.

  1. OH thank goodness you were able to get Goldie repaired! That’s a nightmare of mine – so now I do double backups (cloud and USB) because if all that work just disappeared it would be tragic. YAY for a happy ending :)

    • That happened to me once with my first laptop – it crashed a month after I bought it, and I hadn’t backed anything up yet, because what computer breaks after only a month? Luckily, I was able to get it fixed and I instantly learned my lesson. Now I back up all my important documents daily. My data was thankfully all safe this time around, so that was a bright spot, at least!

    • It was! I’ve always heard wonderful things about Apple – both their products and customer service – so this really surprised me. Super happy to have Goldie back where she belongs! :)

  2. Oh man! That’s terrible. My experience with a recent Macbook repair was the polar opposite: simple and quick and painless. *hugs Gatsby lovingly* (So no, you’re not the only one who names them. ;P)

    So glad your baby is back and ready to work with you!

    • Thank you!

      See, that’s what I’ve always heard about Apple, that their service is top-notch. Even in my case, I understand that accidents happen (though you’d think the technician would’ve been more careful) … it was the lack of communication and condescension from the managers that really made me angry. Maybe it was just my local Apple store? I will NOT be going to that one ever again!

      Also: LOVE that yours is named Gatsby! :)

  3. Boooo urns! Poor Goldie! I hope s/he’s okay now. R2 (my laptop) sends his love!
    Was this the Willow Grove Mall store by any chance? I’ve never had an issue there but I’ve heard mixed results from other people :-(

    • Yes!! I’ve never had a problem there before, but this was one headache after another and two different managers couldn’t even be bothered to apologize (though I will say that the tech supervisor was very nice and helpful). If I ever need to visit an Apple store again, I’ll trek out to King of Prussia instead!

      • Man, they are getting sloppy over there :-(
        I’ve had good results with King of Prussia and the Suburban Square store in Ardmore, at least. . My other go-to place is Springboard Media since I actually bought R2 there. But now that I don’t work downtown anymore, it’s a pain to go to either of their locations: Philly’s midtown village (S. 13th Street), or the newer Exton shop. Boo urns.

Leave a Reply

