777.

“You can make anything by writing.”
~C.S. Lewis

Some of my awesome writing friends participated in the “777 Challenge” recently, and I enjoyed reading their fabulous excerpts so much, I decided to play along! Here’s a bit of WATERCOLORS, the book I’m preparing to query.

There are homeless shelters in the city, wonderful ones that build people up when they’ve fallen down. I could go there. I should go there. But I can’t move. My legs melt to jelly when I stand and I have to grab on to the railing before they betray me completely. Suddenly I’m exhausted. I’m so, so tired and afraid. Every ounce of energy has been zapped from my body, filtered out by an ominous sieve, and the idea of walking anywhere, even a few blocks, seems akin to climbing Mount Everest. I just … can’t.

And so I slide back to the concrete steps, letting my thoughts escape once again to all the shows that have been played inside. Ryman Auditorium is happiness personified. It’s the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and the dream realized. It’s part of the reason why so many tourists journey to Nashville and why so many artists crave the chance to call this city their own.

Maybe that’s why I stay.

Maybe I’m craving something, too.

Fellow writers, it’s your turn. Go to page seven of your WIP, jump down seven lines, and post seven sentences – and make sure to leave me a link, because I’d love a glimpse into your stories!

10 thoughts on “777.

  1. Ooh, I love this! It draws the reader right in!!! Ryman Auditorium is happiness personified…I’ve never even been in the building and I’ve lived in Nashville my whole life. Most of the year now, the Opry is held over here near where i live, next to Opry Mills. They go to the Ryman during the winter months. SUCH a shame, with the Ryman’s deep history. They do a lot of shows there throughout the year, though–it just seems the Opry should be there. My stepdad said the backstage is a nightmare in that old building, though, and the artists like their HUGE dressing rooms.

    • Thank you!

      I agree — it’s such a shame not to utilize the Ryman more. I’ve never been to the Grand Ole Opry building near Opry Mills (I tried when I was visiting, but got there too late in the evening and it was already closed for the day), but that looks beautiful too, from the pictures I’ve seen. In any case, I hope they will start having more shows back at the Ryman sometime soon!

  2. Shari, I LOVED this! I’ve heard you talk about WATERCOLORS a lot, so it was great to get a glimpse of it. I feel so much yearning in this excerpt and it made me want to read on to see if the narrator gets what they want! What a fun blogfest!

  3. Pingback: Seven Facts. | Shari Speaks

Leave a Reply

