Tuesday’s Tunes: On Repeat.


“Put my heart where my head should be
And light up the rest of me
‘Cause the dreams
They won’t fall apart
Through the stars, through the stars
When your life is a work of art.”
~Rachel Platten, “Work of Art”

Wow, it’s been forever and a day since my last Tuesday’s Tunes post. That’s partially because of WATERCOLORS – when I’m working on a book, I tend to listen to its playlist repeatedly and focus mainly on those songs – and also because it’s been a long time, too long, since I bought any albums. The good news? Some of my favorite singers have released new music within the past couple months, which means there are fresh melodies twirling through my mind and inspiring my soul. Here are a few of them:

“Work of Art” and “Fight Song” – Rachel Platten: Okay, I can’t choose just one song from Rachel, because I’ve been listening to both of these every day lately. She released the first one a couple years ago, and “Fight Song” is new. Both are wonderful. Both are inspiring. Both are special. These songs seep into the crevices of your heart and make it beat with added hope and faith. In fact, they’ve become the soundtrack to my life as of late, as I navigate the roller-coaster that is querying two books simultaneously. There are days when I’m on top of the world and days when I want to scream in frustration, but no matter what, these songs remind me to keep going, keep persevering, keep fighting for what I believe in.

“Trouble” – Didi Benami: Didi was my favorite on American Idol back in 2010, and she just released her debut album Reverie in September. It’s a fabulous collection of insightful, evocative music that works its way into your head and refuses to leave. There’s a whimsy to Didi’s lyrics and her voice, and it really sets her apart. “Trouble” is one of the singles from her new album, and it does an awesome job of showing how unique her music is.

“Universe Electric” – Angie Miller: Angie is another Idol favorite, and I just love her debut EP Weathered. It’s hard to pick which song I like best – so many are awesome – but if I had to choose, it’d be “Universe Electric.” Not only is it catchy, but it has such a great message about us all joining together to turn a spark into a flame. Angie is always telling her supporters to “dream big,” and that sense of hope and optimism definitely comes through not only in this song, but in the whole album.

“I Was Here” – Kristin Chenoweth: I was so excited when I heard that Kristin was releasing a live album. It was such a special experience to attend her concert in February, and now I get to relive it every time I listen to Coming Home! My favorite song on the album is “I Was Here,” not only because it’s the theme song for two of my characters, but also because it’s mine. It’s the kind of song that builds you up and gives you wings … the kind of song that makes you want to fly. Kristin explains why she loves it, too, in this video.

What songs do you have on repeat lately?

8 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tunes: On Repeat.

  1. Love the songs. I have a couple that I totally geek out on, but for me it’s more about the message. This is my Christmas one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fH9nK_9OBDg

    And this is my pick me up one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cx53Eh0Di5k&index=6&list=LLzta-Sb6aS8bSa37EzKXSHA

    And this is my DO SOMETHING GOOD FOR SOMEONE ELSE one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMmozPVUj-s&index=16&list=LLzta-Sb6aS8bSa37EzKXSHA

    Unleashing the Dreamworld

    • It really gets me inside the characters’ heads, you know? That was especially true with WATERCOLORS, since so much of Eden’s world revolves around music. And I agree — Kristin’s music is always fantastic! If you’re interested, she has a PBS special airing on 11/28. :)

    • Me too! Her new album is wonderful, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it does well. I got to meet her at the Idol tour that year, too, and she’s so nice, Her sunny spirit is contagious!

Leave a Reply

