Home is where the ocean is.


“There’s nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it’s sent away.”
~Sarah Kay

How is it September already? Seriously … it is beyond my comprehension. Between having to skip our annual vacation at the shore in June and then spending the whole summer working on revisions for my book, it kind of seems like the season just slipped right on by without giving me a chance to soak it up. That’s why I was so especially grateful to have a week in Ocean City at the end of August. I’d been yearning for it like words can’t express – the feel of sunshine warming my face, the sound of the wooden boardwalk planks beneath my sneakers, the smell of the salty ocean air surrounding my soul, the sight of endless turquoise as I swam in the pool – and it felt particularly special this time. It was all the little bubbles of magic the seashore always sends fizzing up around me, but it was more than that, too. It was gratitude for the chance to be there when we thought it wouldn’t be possible at all this year. It was a celebration of sorts, a chance to breathe out, relax, and drink in the inspiration. I timed it so that my first round of edits was finished two days before we left, and though it felt incredibly strange not to be hanging out in Melina and Bradley’s world, it was also a much needed break from working so hard. Here are some of the sights that surrounded me:

DSC06104

DSC06108

DSC06111

DSC06123

DSC06143

DSC06146

DSC06147

DSC06155

DSC06160

DSC06204

DSC06233

DSC06263

DSC06268

Where did you go on vacation this year? Share a picture with me!

8 thoughts on “Home is where the ocean is.

    • It sounds (and looks!) like such a wonderful trip. There’s something about sharing experiences like that with friends that makes them even more special!

      And thank you so much! :)

  1. Gorgeous photos! I’m glad your trip was fun. I don’t know where this summer went either and now I’m bummed that I didn’t get to the Shore (I wanted to save up my vacation days for later this year but I also wasn’t expecting my summer to be dominated by weird health issues). Happy early birthday!

    • I can’t believe it’s almost the middle of September already — I feel like it should still be July, or at least August. Maybe you can squeeze in a weekend day trip to the shore while the weather’s still nice?!

  2. Beautiful photographs, Shari! It’s always good to see when you’ve had a break from the writing and revision scene and gotten back in touch with our world here. Hope the break from the world of your characters lets you get back into things with fresh eyes for the next revision, or whatever else you decide to do! Happy writing :)

  3. Just wanted to pop in and say hello, friend! <3 <3 I hope you and your writing are doing well. Looks like you had a wonderful time on vacation, going by those gorgeous pictures!

Leave a Reply

