Snowy Snapshots.


“Snowflakes are one of nature’s most fragile things, but just look what they can do when they stick together.”
~Vista M. Kelly

“Plowable snow.”

There are two general reactions to those words, each a polar opposite of the other: you either feel a snap of excited energy at the approaching storm, or you wish for a winning lottery ticket so a vacation to the Bahamas is possible. I fall into the first category (not that I wouldn’t love to see the Bahamas one day … ). When the meteorologists began to mention a Nor’easter, I eagerly anticipated the snowfall predictions. When the flakes began to fly last evening, I stood at the window to watch them swirl through the air. When the snow began to intensify, tumbling down to the ground like salt from the sky’s shaker, I was nothing but happy. We didn’t get nearly as much as Massachusetts or the other states blanketed by two or three feet – only five or six inches here – but still, I couldn’t resist going outside to snap some picture of the fluffy crystals stretching across the landscape. There’s nothing like the magic of a winter wonderland.

snow1

snow2

snow3

snow4

snow5

snow6

snow7

snow8

snow9

snow10

Anyone else a snow lover? Or would you rather live somewhere warm year-round?

13 thoughts on “Snowy Snapshots.

    • Agreed completely. I adore the south, but I know I’d miss the snow/winter weather if I lived there. Getting to experience all four seasons each year is the best.

  1. Snow-lover right here. But as much as I Iove snow, I wouldn’t mind living in warmer climates for the rest of my… life! Maybe Italy (away from the wildfires, of course) or down south.

  2. I love the idea of snow, not that I get much down here in Australia. Certainly, it doesn’t blanket my town every winter. I’ve only seen it fall in my own town once or twice, and it was sparse. But I am definitely a lover of warmth, and the only upside I could see in staying somewhere so cold that it snows is that it would be perfect cuddling weather. :) Lovely photos, Shari!!!

    • Oh my goodness, I can’t even imagine only having seen snow once or twice. One of my favorite things about Pennsylvania is that we do (normally) get our fair share of snow during the winter, but we also have a beautifully warm spring and summer. It’s a perfect blend! That said, Australia seems like such a stunning and wonderful place to live, so who needs snow when you have that?!

  3. Wow! Plowable or not, you gotta appreciate that snow, all thick and pristine. Well, until you got those footprints of yours into it. ;-) And, yes, I like snow, but only in moderation, and only if it doesn’t stick around too long. This winter we had too much for too long. I’m ready for spring. Some winters, though, I long for snow because we don’t get much those years. Just depends. Of course, a week or two in a tropical location is in order every January, no matter the snowfall, as far as I’m concerned. And some year I may actually do it!

    • It’s been a few years since we had a winter with a lot of snow, so it was nice to get five inches at once. It’s all melted now, but it was pretty while it lasted. That said, I completely agree with your tropical vacation plan. I’d love to sail away from the cold one January and visit Bermuda!

Leave a comment