Versatility.


“I keep myself content by doing lots of different stuff and make sure that my next role is completely different to the last. I just enjoy the versatility of it, the challenge of doing lots of different things. It keeps the job interesting.”
~David Thewlis

So … I had every intention of doing a post today about how great it felt to jump into edits for MINE TO LOVE last Monday. About how rejuvenating it was to take two weeks off and return to my desk with a (slightly) less emotional heart and (much) more objective viewpoint. About how it’s been a joy to visit with my book-babies again. About how much fun I’m having posting a sentence from the manuscript on Facebook each day. About how different the process is this time around, how willing I am to immediately cut words if they aren’t absolutely necessary to the story. About how the lessons I learned while revising DEAR ELLIE have already come into play.

And then I spent five and a half hours straight practically glued to the computer today – the most successful editing day yet, but also one that made my eyes bleary and my neck/back/shoulders feel like an elephant had been sitting on them. So, instead, I’m going to do this fun Versatile Blogger post. I was tagged by Sylvia, Heather, and Tuere – thanks, ladies! – and am passing it along to all of you. Tell me something random about yourself in the comments, or post seven facts on your blog and include a link. Please? (Or, as my MC’s little girl Ellie would say, “Pretty please with a cherry on top?)

1. Forget about Disney World – in my eyes, Ventnor, NJ will always be the happiest place on earth. We spent time there every summer when I was a kid, and though we vacation in other shore towns now, Ventnor will always have my heart.

2. Speaking of Disney, I might be the only twenty-eight year old who’s never been there. I know, I know, there’s just something not right about that. Savannah, GA is the farthest south I’ve ever been. Hopefully that’ll change sometime soon.

3. As of August 16th, I’ll have seen Kelly Clarkson in concert fifteen times since she won Idol back in 2002. You could say that I’m a dedicated fan. :)

4. I have a list of potential names for my future children, even though their father (whoever he is) appears to be hanging out on another planet these days. Come on already, Prince Charming. I’m ready to meet you now.

5. My senior thesis in college (“Journalistic Objectivity versus Patriotism in Times of War”) only had to be thirty pages long. It turned out to be fifty-nine. You’re all shell-shocked, I’m sure.

6. I’m currently obsessed with China Glaze nail polish. It’s like the stuff is completely chip-resistant.

7. Give me an afternoon to spend in any store and I’ll almost always choose Barnes and Noble. I am determined to see my books on the shelf there one day.

Your turn! Share a random fact or two!

13 thoughts on “Versatility.

  1. Your future hubby must be hanging out with mine. If you get ahold of him, tell him to tell mine that I’m not a patient person lol

  2. Random fact #1: For some reason I thought you were married. Lol. Whoops! (In retrospect, I cannot for the life of me figure out why I thought that.)

    Random fact #2: I have had this window open for about 40 min trying to come up with a second interesting fact. Wow.

    • This just might be my favorite comment ever! So now I have to ask … what did you think my husband looked like? You know, so I can be on a watch for anyone who looks like him … who knows, maybe it’ll work ;-)

      • ROFL. Hmm, I never thought about it much. Tall… glasses… curly-ish hair (but not really CURLY curly)… kind of pale, but not in a gross way… Good nose and chin… Generally dresses casually, but not sloppy… a bit of a goofball. :)

  3. Cool, you’ve just put Ventnor, NJ on the map! It’s a lot closer to me than Disney, so I’ll check it out :)

    Hmm, a fun fact about me when there are so many… Few know that I have several of the original toy Star Wars characters still in packages (tattered that they are) in my closet which is off limits to my children. They were on a “Crazy Eddie” sale @ Toys R Us when the new movies’d come out and they wanted to clear them out. In my geek fantasies, I always envisioned devoting a curio displayed in one of my rooms of all of my collective items from my different sci-fi faves.

    • I LOVE Ventnor … it’ll always be my favorite of NJ’s shore towns and will forever have a special place in my heart.

      And … fun! It must have been such a neat experience to collect them. Are you still planning to display them one day?

  4. Sorry you went cross-eyed over your editing! Your book is going to be fabulous, though! Plus now you get to apply everything you’ve learned to a new book – and probably learn even more! Hope it’s going well today.

    Wow. You’ve seen Kelly Clarkson fifteen times?!? You ARE a fan!

    LOL on your senior thesis page count. Yes. I am truly, deeply, totally shocked. Okay. No, I’m not. But I bet the thesis committee loved it!

    • That cross-eyed feeling has turned into a daily occurrence as of late (not so much fun, but also a good thing, since it’s a sign of how productive the editing’s been). I’m going to do a post on it soon, but yes, I’m really happy with how things are going in Revision Land. I have high hopes that it won’t take five rounds this time (though, I only have to delete half as much, so there’s that, too … but still … I’m excited).

      LOL yes, fifteen times. Actually, if you count the time I went to NYC for two separate mini-concerts of hers, it’d be seventeen. Nobody can accuse me of not being dedicated!

      I figured you of all people would be utterly flabbergasted to hear of the page total :) I actually really enjoyed writing it, though, despite the extra work, and yes, it earned me an A. The coolest moment, though, was when I went for an internship interview at our ABC station and they asked to read the paper!

  5. Disney World is awesome… I’m trying to convince my boyfriend to go even though we have no kiddies!

    15 times is impressive! The most I’ve seen one band is 4 times. It’s a band named Dr. Dog… most people have never even heard of them!

    • Okay, now I want to go even more! I hope you can convince your boyfriend to take a trip there, too!

      You can count me among the people who haven’t heard of that band, but now you’ve piqued my curiosity and I’m off to look them up! :)

Leave a comment