GH Love.


“When you write a book, you spend day after day scanning and identifying the trees. When you’re done, you have to step back and look at the forest.”
~Stephen King

So … the forest of my book? The landscape of trees that’s coming together after the seeds were planted and the ideas took root? It’s something I’m really excited about, and very proud of, and so, so eager to start sending out into the world. But it’s also becoming a bit of something else: an occupational hazard. I have been spending so much time editing lately that my neck and eyes are beginning to protest. As in, I’ve been legitimately worried the last couple days that a blood vessel in my eye is going to pop. I’ll spare y’all the lovely details – just suffice it to say, I’m trying to majorly cut down on the computer time this weekend. Editing has been going well – so well, in fact, that this manuscript is actually going to dip below my target word count, which never (ever … E.V.E.R.) happens! – and though I’m reticent to scale back on my workload, I’m also trying to be smart about things. So, instead of a wordy post today, you get pictures of the General Hospital event I attended yesterday. It was a Q&A and meet-and-greet with Kirsten Storms (Maxie), Bradford Anderson (Spinelli), and Brandon Barash (Johnny). I’ve met Bradford and Brandon before, but not Kirsten, and so it was lovely to talk with her (as well as them – I made sure to tell Bradford that Spinelli’s laptop needs a name!). It always strikes me how genuine and gracious the GH cast is. They love their jobs, they love their co-workers, they love interacting with their fans … they are just wonderful people.

Her sunny spirit is contagious!

Take 1!

Take 2!

Tell me – if you could meet the cast of any television show, who would you choose?

15 thoughts on “GH Love.

    • Editing overload … that is a perfect way to put it! I’ve been working on revisions since July and am just SO READY to be finished.

      Good luck to you too! :)

  1. I have a work friend who is obsessed with GH and would LOVE to meet them! So cool. I would like to meet the cast of Friends (I know, so old-school) b/c I feel like I grew up with them.

    Good luck on your novel!

    • Thank you!

      Tell your friend that the cast often does personal appearances in different places – NYC, the NJ shore, Chicago, Atlanta, Orlando, etc. They are awesome people. I hope she gets to meet them!

      Such a great choice with Friends! Who doesn’t love that show, right?! :)

  2. So awesome that you got to meet some of the cast members of GH! I used to watch that show back in the day. :) I would love to meet the cast of Grey’s Anatomy. I would be so star-struck if I met Patrick Dempsey.

    • I love going to their events … they are just such genuinely kind people. Meeting them is always a highlight. Oh my gosh, and I totally agree about Grey’s! I would be totally starstruck, though, and probably freeze up before saying anything!

    • True story: I saw him once at a pancake place on Long Beach Island. He was with a huge group of people and so nobody felt right interrupting, but it was neat just to see him up close!

  3. That looks so fun! What a great opportunity. :-)

    Okay, if I had to pick a cast, well, didn’t Ed McMahon (sp?) have a show for a while? I’d take him showing up on my doorstep with a check. They could even film me in my sweatpants for all I cared! :-D

    Otherwise, it would be hard to choose. Maybe Castle, which is what I’ve been watching lately?

    • It was a blast!

      LOL … I LOVE the Ed McMahon answer. Thank you for making me smile with that! So if you win the jackpot, you should open your own literary agency and take me on as a client. Deal? ;)

      Oh, speaking of Castle: my very favorite GH actress (Nancy Lee Grahn) is going to be on an episode soon! I’m not sure when it airs, but she filmed it a couple weeks ago. Keep an eye out for her!

  4. Haha well looks like you had fun! But yeah, probably lay off the editing a bit if your eyes are suffering for it… I’d looove to meet the cast of Big Bang Theory!

  5. Pingback: Time Machine. | Shari Speaks

Leave a comment